ports used by http protocol

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Futurist, Jun 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Futurist

    Futurist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Hi!

    which are the ports used by http protocol? i have 80 and 8080 in this white space of setting... is there also the port 443 or not?how can i see which are the ports used by http protocol?:) :) :)

    tnx for replyes =)
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    80 is the default port, 8080 is usually used for communication via a proxy server.
     
  3. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    the above answers are correct - except to mention that a particular webserver can be setup to run on ANY port - that's the choice of the owner of the server - and it's as easy as changing 1 number in the webserver configuration, and then issuing the command to restart the server... which would make the ESET web access ineffective if change my webserver port to 10,000.

    But you have real-time protection to pick up the slack.. ;)
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Ports don't matter as long as a particular application is marked as a web browser. On Vista SP1 and newer, all applications are treated as if marked as web browsers due to Windows Filtering Platform that is used on these OS instead of traffic redirection via a local proxy.
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    that's good to hear... of course I have thousands of XP users still... ;)
     
  7. Futurist

    Futurist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    thank you very much... yes.. i've seen after for 443 ( used by https)
    i've XP sp3...
    thank you for your replies,perfect! =)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.