Ports open help!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JayK, Jan 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JayK

JayK Poster

I had a friend scan me. And I found the following ports open

TCP

Please advise,

Worried.

2. snowy

snowy Guest

Previous Post By JayK:

"In fact, except for a few moderators etc. it would be laugable to call anyone here a "Security expert". Knowing how to use anti-virus, configure simple firewall rules , an expert one does not make.

3) There are a lot of senior members who might be very knowledgable about security products by the virtue of trying almost everything, but they actually understand very little about the fundamental security principles and what the products they use really do, or how they do it.

JAY

I sincerely wish you the very best in locating you port problem. Unfortunately, I am not a security expert so can't offer you any suggestions.......

3. JacK

JacK Registered Member

Hello,

Most are related to Mail (pop or IMAP)

First of all use a decent FW ;)

4. JayK

JayK Poster

Well snowy, i consider you an expert. After all, for someone who is a guest, you sure post a lot.I'm guessin you are some mysterious expert, unwilling to reveal yourself. Or there is some past history I'm not aware of ?

Or perhaps there are a dozen people who like the guest name snowy....

5. JayK

JayK Poster

Hey Jack, would a decent FW prevent the mail related ports from showing open? the last time i tried a firewall (no idea if it's decent) it still showed port 110 open. Is there anyway to use a mailserver and still keep them closed ? I would think not, but I would be happy to learn how to set the firewall rules to set it up.

Also What do you make of TCP 412?

6. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

JayK