Port Explorer won't open 2.1

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by jwcca, Oct 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just installed PE 2.1 and have found that it will open on the first boot after the install, but not thereafter. I checked PG settings and I allow everything for PE, drivers, hooks, etc. But it stalls during Open, I see the skeletal box only. When checking Task Manager, I see "PortExplorer.ex" please note that the last "e" on ".exe" is missing. I checked the shortcut and it has the dorrect full name "PortExplorer.exe".
    Uninstalling, reboot, install, reboot gets it running again, but this is not a workable solution. Since I don't use PE regularly, I only found this yesterday for the first time, and then again today.

    W2K SP4 patched.

    Jim

    I'll try again tonight and if it's still a problem, then I'll go back to 2.0.
     
  2. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Strange, but it works just fine today.

    JC
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I had same problem yesterday; on a fully patched Win XP Home computer.
     
  4. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    Actually I haven't been on Port Explorer (Diamond Computer Systems Pty. Ltd.) ver2.1.0.0 for a while. But this evening I needed it and it won't launch. Of course I reinstalled it - ok. Still it will not start up and it will not generate an Event error so as to give me a clue. You will allow me a little paranoia here. To be clear, when I say it will not launch, I mean P.E.'s gui does not appear and it is not even online long enough to register in Task Manager.

    WINXP SP1 H.E.
    IE6 SP1
    (current on all updates/patches)

    Can someone please give me a couple of things to check. I can't remember the last time an application plainly refused to even start up.
     
  5. Hawat

    Hawat Guest

    Same here it launched after the first install but it wont open anymore.
    i m using a french version of windows xp home.
    I never had this problem with version 2.0
     
  6. hawat

    hawat Guest

    i forgot to mention that its the sp1 version with all the patch installed except sp2.
     
  7. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    I'm sorry that you're experiencing the same difficulties - yet I'm delighted that I am not the only one. Maybe we can get some help soon.
     
  8. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi guys, since I had my bad, but temporary experience I realized that I needed to provide more info, so here goes.
    I'd installed PE 2.1, had opened it, everything was OK.
    Then I logged off and sometime later logged back on and wanted to check my e-mail (boring so far) but, while my dial-up connection was connecting, it hadn't finished!, I clicked on the PE icon. That's when the bare bones PE screen came up and nothing more. I tried a couple of times, with the dial-up still connected, with the same results. Later on I re-installed PE 2.1 (off-line) but had the same problem. I shut down for the night. The next day I logged on, then connected and only after getting my connection, I tried PE and it's worked ever since. I didn't do anything that I know of other than initially trying to start PE during the connection process. Or, later, only opening PE after the connection was complete. If you're on high-speed always on, then my situation is different and this may not help. But, I hope you get it sorted out,

    Jim Clements
     
  9. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    I should add here that I did follow the suggestions in Troubleshooting, i.e.,
    (1.) Unregistered PE winsock .dll, dcsws2.dll and rebooted
    (2.) Registered PE winsock .dll, dcsws2.dll
    and rebooted
    (3.) When PE still would not launch, I proceeded to UNINSTALL PE and reboot
    (4.) Reinstalled PE and rebooted.
    STILL NO JOY! PE will not even show me a window.
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    This has got to be a bug..........this will happen to me (barebones) if i try to dial up and load PE at the same time or visa versa .....so i either load PE first or wait until i have my internet connection, then load PE....
     
  11. Hawat

    Hawat Guest

    An answer from Diamondcs would be nice its been a few days since several persons posted about this problem and still nothing. I'd like to be able to use what I paid for.
     
  12. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    I'm trying to be patient but it sure would be nice to hear something from Wayne. I've personally never had an application simply not launch at all. Not so much as a bleep on the screen. Nada, zip!
     
  13. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Very strange problem, thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    Hawat, please let us know what other programs you have on your system - especially firewall, antivirus and other security programs. Please email us as much information as you can, and use v2.000 until we get a new testing version ready to try and find your problems.

    There have been some other problems found, and it may already be fixed so please email us soon ! thanks :)
     
  14. hawat

    hawat Guest

    This is the list of what i m running. I didn't update anything other than the critial windows xp update since the last time I managed to open port explorer.
    also kaspersky autoupdate itself ever few hours.
    System Idle Process 0 N/A
    System 4 N/A
    smss.exe 640 N/A
    csrss.exe 696 N/A
    winlogon.exe 728 N/A
    services.exe 776 Eventlog, PlugPlay
    lsass.exe 788 PolicyAgent, ProtectedStorage, SamSs
    ati2evxx.exe 940 Ati HotKey Poller
    svchost.exe 996 RpcSs
    svchost.exe 1124 AudioSrv, Browser, CryptSvc, Dhcp, ERSvc,
    EventSystem, FastUserSwitchingCompatibility,
    helpsvc, lanmanserver, lanmanworkstation,
    Messenger, Netman, Nla, RasMan, Schedule,
    seclogon, SENS, ShellHWDetection, srservice,
    TapiSrv, TermService, Themes, TrkWks,
    uploadmgr, W32Time, winmgmt, wuauserv, WZCSVC
    Smc.exe 1212 SmcService
    svchost.exe 1392 Dnscache
    svchost.exe 1436 LmHosts, SSDPSRV, WebClient
    spoolsv.exe 1816 Spooler
    ati2evxx.exe 304 N/A
    explorer.exe 396 N/A
    kavsvc.exe 668 kavsvc
    kav.exe 1116 N/A
    CTXFIHLP.EXE 1232 N/A
    AsusProb.exe 1244 N/A
    RegKillTray.exe 1288 N/A
    jusched.exe 1316 N/A
    CTXFISPI.EXE 1340 N/A
    DLLML.exe 1344 N/A
    DLLML.exe 1364 N/A
    CTHELPER.EXE 1380 N/A
    VolPanel.exe 1452 N/A
    NetLimiter.exe 1484 N/A
    QuickATLAS.exe 1480 N/A
    issch.exe 1544 N/A
    CLI.exe 1556 N/A
    ctfmon.exe 1636 N/A
    pg2.exe 1644 N/A
    StarWindService.exe 1960 StarWindService
    CLI.exe 2012 N/A
    SetPoint.exe 2040 N/A
    svchost.exe 168 stisvc
    wdfmgr.exe 520 UMWdf
    NotiMan.exe 1608 N/A
    KHALMNPR.EXE 2000 N/A
    CLI.exe 3308 N/A
    wuauclt.exe 1712 N/A
    notepad.exe 2632 N/A
    firefox.exe 3204 N/A
    cmd.exe 3320 N/A
    wmiprvse.exe 3716 N/A
    tasklist.exe 2924 N/A
     
  15. hawat

    hawat Guest

    a bit more info on the startup programs.

    Detected: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    G:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    G:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\CTXFIHLP.EXE
    G:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
    G:\Program Files\Elaborate Bytes\DVD Region Killer\RegKillTray.exe
    G:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CTXFISPI.EXE
    G:\Program Files\Creative\Shared Files\Module Loader\DLLML.exe
    G:\Program Files\Creative\Shared Files\Module Loader\DLLML.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\CTHELPER.EXE
    G:\Program Files\Creative\Sound Blaster X-Fi\Volume Panel\VolPanel.exe
    G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\NetLimiter.exe
    G:\Program Files\ATLAS V11\QuickATLAS.exe
    G:\Program Files\Fichiers communs\InstallShield\UpdateService\issch.exe
    G:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\CTFMON.EXE
    G:\Program Files\PeerGuardian2\pg2.exe
    G:\Program Files\Alcohol Soft\Alcohol 120\StarWind\StarWindService.exe
    J:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
    G:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\CLI.exe
    G:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    G:\Program Files\Creative\ShareDLL\CADI\NotiMan.exe
    G:\Program Files\Fichiers communs\Logitech\KHAL\KHALMNPR.EXE
    G:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe
    G:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    H:\utils\hijackthis startuplist\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [G:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Menu Démarrer\Programmes\Démarrage]
    Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = J:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
    ATI CATALYST System Tray.lnk = G:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\CLI.exe
    Logitech SetPoint.lnk = G:\Program Files\Logitech\SetPoint\SetPoint.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = G:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    IMJPMIG8.1 = "G:\WINDOWS\IME\imjp8_1\IMJPMIG.EXE" /Spoil /RemAdvDef /Migration32
    PHIME2002ASync = G:\WINDOWS\System32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /SYNC
    PHIME2002A = G:\WINDOWS\System32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /IMEName
    SmcService = G:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe -startgui
    KAVPersonal50 = "G:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal Pro\kav.exe" /minimize
    Logitech Hardware Abstraction Layer = KHALMNPR.EXE
    PtiuPbmd = Rundll32.exe ptipbm.dll,SetWriteBack
    CTxfiHlp = CTXFIHLP.EXE
    ASUS Probe = g:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
    NeroFilterCheck = G:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    RegKillElbyCheck = "G:\Program Files\Elaborate Bytes\DVD Region Killer\ElbyCheck.exe" /L RegKill
    RegKillTray = "G:\Program Files\Elaborate Bytes\DVD Region Killer\RegKillTray.exe"
    SunJavaUpdateSched = G:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    RCSystem = "G:\Program Files\Creative\Shared Files\Module Loader\DLLML.exe" RCSystem * -Startup
    AudioDrvEmulator = "G:\Program Files\Creative\Shared Files\Module Loader\DLLML.exe" -1 AudioDrvEmulator "G:\Program Files\Creative\Shared Files\Module Loader\Audio Emulator\AudDrvEm.dll"
    CTHelper = CTHELPER.EXE
    UpdReg = G:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
    VolPanel = "G:\Program Files\Creative\Sound Blaster X-Fi\Volume Panel\VolPanel.exe" /r
    NetLimiter = G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\NetLimiter.exe /s
    QuickATLASV11 = "G:\Program Files\ATLAS V11\QuickATLAS.exe"
    ISUSPM Startup = G:\PROGRA~1\FICHIE~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\isuspm.exe -startup
    ISUSScheduler = "G:\Program Files\Fichiers communs\InstallShield\UpdateService\issch.exe" -start
    ATICCC = "G:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\cli.exe" runtime
    PowerDirector = G:\WINDOWS\Temp\TPDIR\setup.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    CTFMON.EXE = G:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    HDDHealth = J:\Program Files\HDD Health\hddhealth.exe -wl
    PeerGuardian = G:\Program Files\PeerGuardian2\pg2.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from G:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=*INI section not found*
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=*INI section not found*
    drivers=*INI section not found*

    Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=*Registry value not found*
    drivers=*Registry value not found*

    Policies Shell key:

    HKCU\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry key not found*
    HKLM\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry value not found*

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - J:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    ATLAS Translation Bar - G:\Program Files\ATLAS V11\ATLIECP.DLL - {3C6301ED-0F78-4AF2-8150-D9C052361A8E}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Creative Software AutoUpdate]
    InProcServer32 = G:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CTSUEng.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://creative.com/su/ocx/15015/CTSUEng.cab

    [WUWebControl Class]
    InProcServer32 = G:\WINDOWS\System32\wuweb.dll
    CODEBASE = http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1127300337968

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = G:\WINDOWS\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash8.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Creative Software AutoUpdate Support Package]
    InProcServer32 = G:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CTPID.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://creative.com/su/ocx/15016/CTPID.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    Protocol #1: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #2: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #3: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #4: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #5: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #6: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #7: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #8: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #12: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #13: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #14: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #15: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #16: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #17: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll
    Protocol #35: G:\Program Files\NetLimiter\nl_lsp.dll

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

    PostBootReminder: G:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
    CDBurn: G:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
    WebCheck: G:\WINDOWS\System32\webcheck.dll
    SysTray: G:\WINDOWS\System32\stobject.dll
     
  16. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    Do you want similar information from me via e-mail or should I revert to version 2.00 until you guys get this figured out?
    Thanks.

    EDIT: I should mention that version 2.00 launches without incident. It's nice to have Port Explorer back albeit an older version. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  17. hawat

    hawat Guest

    do you have any link to version 2.0?
    i deleted mine after i installed 2.1 and everything was running fine the first days.
     
  18. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    No I don't. All I could do is attempt to send you the demo version of 2.00 and I say "attempt" because I'm having some connection problems currently and sadly I'm still on dialup. But I'm happy to try. If you want me to try, you can write me on: GLAD YOU GOT YOUR COPY OK.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  19. hawat

    hawat Guest

    thanks bcool2 but i finally managed to grab an old version of pe after a bit of search.
     
  20. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    So the last word on this issue for now is DiamondCS will be conducting some tests to determine why all of sudden PE 2.1 stops executing in Windows XP platform? I guess I'll keep an eye out here for word on sucess downunder. :)
     
  21. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    This with PE not installed ?
    It could be a conflict with Netlimiter, or with PeerGuardian. If possible, uninstall both those and reboot, then install PE and run it BEFORE rebooting. Does it run ? Then reboot, does it run now ?

    Sygate should be compatible.. but I might test with it on a machine now just in case.
     
  22. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    bcool2 : please do post or email us your info..
     
  23. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hawat, what version of NetLimiter are you using ? The LSP nl_lsp.dll doesn't exist in the version I'm testing. If you still have problems with the old version, please try the latest version instead and let us know how it goes.

    Tested on XP Home (with SP1) - Sygate 5.6, NetLimiter 2 Pro (demo) and PE 2.100. No problems..
     
  24. hawat

    hawat Guest

    im using old 1.3 version of netlimiter i dont like the new version its missing some feature that were in 1.3.
    Netlimter and sygate firewall was here even before i started using pe 2.0 and never conflicted with this version.
    But i ll try to uninstall them.
     
  25. hawat

    hawat Guest

    before i did all this i reinstalled 2.0 and 2.0 works.
    then i uninstalled all 3 programs and reboot then installled 2.1. 2.1 doesnt work before reboot and doesnt work after reboot.uninstalled 2.1 and reinstalled 2.0 and netlimiter and everthing works.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.