Port Explorer v2.15 released

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Wayne - DiamondCS, Oct 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Port Explorer v2.15 is now available. This is a relatively minor update but does fix one bug relating to UDP packets so if you have a previous installation of Port Explorer it's strongly recommended you upgrade to this new release.

    New in 2.15 ..
    - A bug has been fixed that affected some UDP packets.
    - Several tweaks to reduce packet processing.
    - When removing all packet data from Socket Spy the current packet is now also cleared.
    - A new warning feature that notifies you when the socket spy capture log breaches a certain size.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Diamond Computer Systems\Port Explorer\
    Create a REG_DWORD value named SocketSpyWarnSize, setting it to the number of bytes to warn at.
    You can also use HKEY_CURRENT_USER instead of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE for per-user settings.
    - Fixed a potential crash when starting Socket Spy.
    - On exit Port Explorer will notify you if the Socket Spy is still running.

    If you already have Port Explorer installed please uninstall it and reboot before installing this new version.

    Download:
    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/downloads/pesetup.exe (1086kb)

    Enjoy :)
     
  2. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    Thanks Wayne, nice to know your all still alive and keeping on top of it all.
     
  3. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    Yea! an already great product getting even better!
     
  4. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    My install of PE seem to still be 2.110 after the upgrade.
    I'm running Windows XP X64

    After the uninstall PE still came up at re-boot. I deleted the C:\Program FIles\Port Explorer directory but it came back up anyways on the following reboot...

    PE is still functional and it looked like the upgrade took but not the version number... Any thoughts?
     
  5. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    Just checked and mine says 2.150
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks Wayne !!!

    Cheers, Jan
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi,

    Sorry, I know nothing about Windows XP X64.

    Just a question: did you completely shut down your existing PortExplorer?
    Then uninstalling it, then reboot, then installing the new version, then reboot.

    On my XP-home the un-installation and installation was going OK, and I have now the new version 2.150
     
  8. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    Problem solved!
    I dont think this is related to X64.

    I was unable to properly uninstall PE even after deleting its directory because I had a startup link to its executable in an alternate directory. This directory contained an actual executable which was bypassed by the uninstall routine. I cant remember doing this but it was there!

    C:\Documents and Settings\*User*\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\PortExplorer.exe

    Deleteing this executable works, then you can re-install PE and it is now working the way it should...
     
  9. SteveS

    SteveS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    "Help > Check For > New Version..." didn't show new version

    By coincidence, just before noticing your new version announcement here I had checked for a new version using the Help > Check For > New Version... function in Port Explorer version 2.110. It came up saying "Your Port Explorer version is up to date."

    (It says the same when I check for new port and domain databases in case that's relevant).

    I've verified this a couple of times since seeing your announcement here.

    Just thought you'd like to know.

    Cheers from Phoenix, Arizona, USA.

    Steve
     
  10. vaseloid

    vaseloid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    While installing this update, I kept running into an error message about not being able to replace the "sporder.dll". This is prolly due to other proggies that has unceremonious ties to this file in question. But my concern is whether there is an overarching need to replace it in the first place.
     
  11. lmgava

    lmgava Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Re: "Help > Check For > New Version..." didn't show new version

    Same here. The only way to know if a new version of Port Explorer, Process Guard, etc. it's out is to check the forums.

    Online check never works.
     
  12. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Hi, my old password for accessing the Port Explorer download worked, but my Unlock Code keeps failing to activate. What should I do?

    websurfnut
     
  13. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I tried completely uninstalling my old Port Explorer, and rebooting, and then installing the new, and rebooting again, and unlocking it, and I still get an error result when trying to activate it with my Unlock Code.

    websurfnut
     
  14. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I have Windows XP Home Edition, running on an AMD 4400+ dual-core cpu.
     
  15. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Are you absolutely sure that you have not cut/pasted either partial or too much (say and extra space or something at the end)? If so, the only thing you can do is contact support or PM Gavin/Wayne directly.

    Blue
     
  16. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I found and corrected the WinXP firewall omission of Port Explorer Register program. Still no soap.
    Perhaps it is because I was directed to download the trial version? Is there a link where I should go to download the registered version instead? Do I have to buy a new copy even though I purchased one back in October of 2003?
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  17. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Success. I found my original email giving me the link to download Port Explorer and giving me my original Unlock Code and got it to work. It also displays the correct new version number, v.2.110. Thank you.
     
  18. trs393

    trs393 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Yes, it works great. The only thing I miss is the shut-down pop-up about 'freeing up resources' and so on. Now it just disappears.
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    The latest version is 2.150.....
     

    Attached Files:

  20. controler

    controler Guest

    Has anyone tried spying on an IE 7.0 process or socket yet?

    Doesn't seem to work for me.

    oops sorry, I was running IE in Sanboxie. duh me again.

    controler
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.