Port Explorer v1.700 Released!

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Jason_DiamondCS, Jun 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Port Explorer v1.700 is now available! This version offers bug fixes and speed increases over the previous builds.

    Here is whats new:

    - Fixed a problem to do with the program K9 which reported the incorrect proxy settings in the window log (probably affected a few other apps also).
    - Cleaned up the DLL a bit which results in it being faster.
    - Fixed GUI issues when the user had larger or smaller than normal fonts.
    - Various tweaks and small bug fixes

    The free evaluation download and full licensed versions of Port Explorer v1.700 are both available now for download at http://www.diamondcs.com.au/portexplorer/

    Registered members should go into the Members Area of the Port Explorer website to download the full version - as always, this is a FREE upgrade for all licensed users.
    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/portexplorer/index.php?page=members

    We hope you enjoy this release!
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thank you Jason, it's getting speedier all time and the color schemes possibilities are nice.
     
  3. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :Djason to fast im already a v level behind thx jason for the new update and fix
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Cheers Jason, Will uninstall the beta & install the "proper" version the beta ran great!
     
  5. bluemule

    bluemule Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Mississippi USA
    ...and the socket spy and help_about screens are fixed for my ME laptop!!! Oh happy days.

    Fred
     
  6. Snook

    Snook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    I was only able to evaluate it for less than a day before it went into "buy me mode" :'(
     
  7. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Do you happen to play around with your clock settings on your PC? Port Explorer does not tolerate time clock changes and if its detects it is being run at an earlier date then it was last time it was run, it will disable itself. This is to stop people from trying to get more time out of the demo.

    -Jason-
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    But the "buy me mode" is the best advice which could happen.
    I installed it on a compromised system to show the user what happened and i was right, put TDS beside it to detect and delete the nasties, and more work to do on that system, which needs to be really secured because there is worked on that system.
    Good catch, so that will be a "buy me mode" immediately for that person too.
    I realy have them running all time with WG of course.
     
  9. Snook

    Snook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    No, I didn't mess with the clock. I'll probably be buying it in the next couple of days. ;)
     
  10. scartissu

    scartissu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    I have to say that this new version has been a charm. the previous couple were not as freindly to my resources..with PE open I had about 15 minutes before my system would grind to an almost complete halt,even with all the resource saveing features active.. I realize my system is not top of the line(PIII900,512 ram) but it should be able to handle some multi tasking without that happening. Even if the only things i had running were systray and explorer and PE..my system would get that thingy where you move the mouse and 5 secs later the curser would move...very frustrating..Anyhoo!! good stuff ,works great now,all better :-*
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi scartissu, Would you mind telling how many sockets you were spying on when the slowdown occurred ?
    On this XP pc spying on 3 sockets with file logging set to 4MB & window logging set to 10,000 the most memory usage i've seen is 13MB. CPU cycles are negligible.
    Currently spying on one socket (Wallwatcher) using 6.3MB memory

    Thanks Pilli
     
  12. scartissu

    scartissu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    hey there pilli..I didn't have any sockets spying..I just started up PE and let it run and occasionaly checking it while I am connected to the net. I have had PE running with wormgrd and ZApro today but have had no luck recreating the slowdown..it did happen last night tho after about an hour but I also had a P2P running so it could have been the 2 of em..I have my logging set to 4 mg ,and win logging set to 1,000 on win98SE. I did read in another thread re:pE causeing system to freeze up..when actually it was that freeing up resources thing PE does when you exit the prog.but because it was a slow machine it took a long time to free up those resources ..thus fooling the person into thinking the system had frozen.
    I have been running PE for about 3 hours now with no slowdown ..sooooo..until I can recreate the effect we have a non problem. but rest assured as soon as i do i will post . i wanna know whats doing this.
     
  13. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    OK just wondered, as I know there were occasional W98 specific problems on the previous versions including the freeing up process which I believe has now been sorted by Jason :D
    Currently PE is using 12.5MB of memory still watching the Wall Watcher socket after nearly 24 hours although XP did hibernate for a few hours last night ;)
    I love the way that after hibernation the PID is still retained and the spying just continues. This may be useful for catching the start up packets of higher level processes as they start up again after resume. Why? The difference being that a restart would change all the PID's.

    Cheers - Pilli
     
  14. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi Scartissue, glad to hear most of your problems are resolved with the newest version. Port Explorer has been optimized with Windows9x a lot over the past few versions and a lot of problems have been fixed, so definately the Win9x support is much greater now then it was before. If you can recreate the problem make sure to write down how you did it :) .

    -Jason-
     
  15. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hmmm to make things very clear: Scartissue, i understood you had the slowdowns with closing PE and freeing the threads process in the FORMER PE version(s), and not with the current 1.700 release, right?
    My PE 1.700 runs fine on a win98se system, and closing down is a matter of seconds and too short a process to even try the mouse and notice possible slowdowns in using that in the middle of closing down.
    So i wonder if you would/will be able to recreate the slowdown effects with the current version.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.