port 1046 is open

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by john_84, Apr 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. john_84

    john_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    i am currently running kerio firewall and when i scan the computer with grc i found that the port
    1046 is not stealth but closed anybody knows
    how to close this port
     
  2. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    John, well lets see whats on that port.
    Please open FIREWALL STATUS an see if there two listing LOCALHOST: one connect OUT and one connected IN.........one may show 44334.......what does the other sayo_O

    If your rules are correct ALL ports should show stealt........I'll wait a few moments for your reply.....past my bedtime LOL
     
  3. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    John I didn't see you as being login so you have already left the forum.....when you return there will be lots of great people here to help you......looks like you need to tweak your rules.
     
  4. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    John, please don't think me rude for not returning....as you may notice I am not a member here..an was just lurking around to see whats happening with spywareblaster.
     
  5. john_84

    john_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    actually kerio firewall is trying to act as a server
    when the kerio firewall starts it open these four ports 44501,44334,1790 and 1796
     
  6. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    WOW John, you posted and took off....no one had a chance to even reply.
    Well good luck..hope you find a solution...
     
  7. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    miranda im keeps that port open here
     
  8. melissa

    melissa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    are u using avast antivirus if yes then turned it off and then do port scan agian
     
  9. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    A very common mistake to think that all four ports are needed.......only two ports are actually needed..one connected out and one connected in



    MEL

    are you showing avast as having a port open..if so consider tweaking your rules...
     
  10. RedLobster

    RedLobster Guest

    quick comment.....if firewall rules are applied correctly ALL ports will be stealth no mater which scan is used.........an no program should need to be disabled..EVER!!
     
  11. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi john_84

    Kerio will establish connections on localhost (127.0.0.1) to communicate with itself. So those are normal.

    If you don't already have one, at the end of your rule set you could add a block rule for all inbound and enable logging.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.