Port 0 Closed

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by huntnyc, Jan 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Using Look 'n' Stop under Win XP Pro SP2, I wanted to see if I could get all common ports stealth under the ShieldsUp test. The only one that is not stealth but says closed is Port 0. Does this matter and is there a way I can change this? I am connected via Earthlink DSL and I note this port was the same even with XP Firewall. Is there a rule I can write to change this or does it really matter that much? Thanks.

    Gary
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    are u using the enhanced ruleset? if not, try it.
     
  3. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Yes I should have mentioned that in my post. I am using Enhanced ruleset.

    Gary
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    are u using a router by chance? perhaps its being scanned instead.
     
  5. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    I am not using a router. It is just an ethernet connection to the laptop with a floating IP I Believe. It may be something Earthlink is doing on their end to cause this but I am not sure. Thanks.

    Gary
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    my last guess would be to check if SPI is enabled but im not sure if that has any affect on port tests.
     
  7. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Could you clarify that please?

    Gary
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    options | advanced options | TCP Stateful Packet Inspection. try checking it.

    u may also want to check "Watch DNS calls" and "Watch Thread injection" but only if u dont have a DEP enabled processor
     
  9. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Thanks. I tried it but it seems that it must be something on Earthlink's end possibly. Still not sure but same result of Port 0 closed no matter what. Again true with Windows Firewall and when I used ZA. Thanks again.

    Gary
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    maybe u sould try a different site that tests port 0. also try the full shieldsup test. and lastly, at the very least its closed but it does seem kinda weird.
     
  11. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Would you mind posting a link that I could try please and thanks again?

    Gary
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  13. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    On that site all are stealth each way I try to run the scans except I cannot find a way to test port 0 there. It does not bring it up at all even if I type it in.

    Gary
     
  14. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Some current ADSL modems also function as a router. Does the IP of your system show as your public IP (the one being scanned), or a private IP? When you do the online scans, do they show up in your LnS logs?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  15. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Under Welocme page in LnS, I see a different IP for my PC than the one listed in ShieldsUp. Is this what you mean?

    Gary
     
  16. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Yes, if the IP on the welcome page falls within the following private ranges:
    10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
    172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
    192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255
    ... it would indicate that your modem is dual purpose and also functioning as a router/doing NAT. If this is the case, it is the modem/router being tested, not your system running LnS.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  17. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Yes it falls within this range.

    172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255

    Thank you very much for your help.

    Gary
     
  18. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    The closed response on port 0 is nothing to worry about. One further thing you could look into is the documentation for your modem/router. Check for what configuration options it may have and if there is any settings that could be modified that impact how it responds to unsolicited inbound traffic.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  19. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    I can't add anything useful to this thread but I wonder if the fact that Port 0 has not been assigned by IANA (or is Reserved), means that having it closed is a good thing?;http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers
     
  20. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Thanks for all your help. Might check into modem configuration down the road.

    Gary
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.