Poor Avira Repair Capability

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by phyniks, Aug 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Today I installed Avira on an infected system(the malware was Jeefo A. Virus)
    after installation,it warned that 4 viruses were found ,i clicked on "remove it",
    System Repair started....another warning came up saying 87 viruses were found(the first System Scan window was there).....I clicked on "remove" again....the second system scan came up....
    the story went on,lots of warning,lots of system scans and the system freezed
    I restart the system and that happened again
    I reinstalled avira using "secure start" option,but the result was the same
    I uninstall your product and let ESET do the job and I did well(It takes 3 hours to clean the system).I m sure ESET is not good in Repairing but it could work on that infected system.
    As far as I can remember,Avira's V8 and V9 did not have this System Repair after every detection,and I think the program was better that time.
    I know Avira's detection rate is superb,but The Repair is what they should improve
     
  2. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,

    You should have run a full system scan in safe mode I think.
     
  3. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Boot CD - Any Product.

    ~

    Why you no do this? :cautious:
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,630
    Would definitely run the scan in safe mode. I have had a lot of recent success with repair and clean up. It finds things other av's have not (at least for me).
     
  5. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    One word of caution about Avira Rescue CD and probably others. As you all know most computers come from the store with lots of crap installed, and so their restore partition.

    One time i run a full scan with Avira rescue CD, with the option to delete if is not possible to repair, and Avira removed stuff from the recovery partition (the factory image). Later when i tried to restore to the factory defaults from the restore partition it was impossible...
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Even if ESET do the cleaning job better, there is no need for running a Full Disk Scan!!!!
     
  7. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    I uninstalled Avira because it could not clean the systm
    I just made the infected system Freezed,so I went to eset



    These are good options,but why cant avira antivirus do its job,while it can be done by others?!!
    cleanning(repairing) is part of every antivirus task

    Rescue CD is not part of Avira AV software

    An antivirus should be able to clean any infected system by itself,there should be no necessity to run the system on Safe Mode

    I think this "system repair" which has came to avira from v10,has made the software useless in some cases
    I hope they change it in the following version


    *
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2012
  8. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    That's my favourite line from Alice In Wonderland.
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I hope you post this on Avira's user forum. Incidently thats where you might have been best served as far as clearing up you issue.
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    ha ha couldn't say it better myself :D
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    And the reality is, they all cant clean everything. Avira, Eset and Panda all do a darn good job though keeping you safe.
     
  12. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Look what "pcmag" says about avira 2013's repairing....the problem is still there:


    Avira installed and scanned yet another test system, but never managed to remove all the malware. Its realtime detection system reported threats and offered to remove them. The antivirus performs a mini-scan after a realtime detection. This scan revealed that most of Avira's own executable files were infected. The cleanup process terminated Windows Explorer, leaving no visible desktop. After a reboot, the whole thing happened again, and again.

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2410666,00.asp
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Funny but I couldn't find your posts at Avira.:rolleyes:
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    87 Virus's, its time to disconnect from the internet and find a different hobbie.:p
     
  15. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo terrible support also. not at all concerned about my issues it seems. i reinstalled eset because i literally go no where with their support or their forum, no one has responded back to my emails after giving them the details of the issue and linking them to all the posts with all the info as well as providing all reports they asked me for. sucks to since i just bought a whole bunch of lic's and now unless they do something will never use them. am trying to get a refund.
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    At least you gave the vendor a chance.
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah with as much detail and everything i provided i am sorely disappointed right now i cant believe i gave them money for 15 total lic's (which i only bought because of the great sale they had recently ori would have had more time to test it first) and now i have to somehow try to get a refund since im out a good amount of money. if they offer more help or helpme actually fix or even look into the issue maybe id be a bit happier right now but otherwise im done with avira and it sucks as i said because i REALLY actually like the program. just very disappointed. but no way i should have the same issue on 3 laptops and also now tested on one desktop. the suggestion i got from someone was if it happens when you turn off uac then leave it on. well maybe you like to run with uac but i dont and i dont think i should have to leave it on. dont know just totally annoyed.
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,278
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    87 viruses is unrealistic in a normal malware scenario, and if even if that was the case re-installing Windows or using a clean image would be the normal course of action.

    If that was not possible, "we all know here at Wilders" that cleaning a heavily infected system might require several anti malware applications including different emergency CDs. I don't think the title thread is fair towards Avira.
     
  19. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly.:thumb:
     
  20. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    as for the op the "87 virus' " could have simply meant it found 87 objects including things like registry keys and temp files. it may not have been a true 87 actual infections. will have to wait for the op but thats what im thinking it was.
     
  21. ZeNoN

    ZeNoN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Actually I faced the same situation ( the annoying system scan loop without cleaning anything ) with avira before with some virut variants on a relative's pc.
    I ditched avira since then :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    ^
    Says pccrap and Mr.Rubenking the #1 Norton lovers :shifty:

     
  23. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    Sorry,but I dont know what u re getting at

    as I had said,avira's detection is great but it cannot repair infected systems,the point was mentioned by PCMAG reviewer


    Well,if you dont believe the report you can give avira a try on a system infected before its installation
    believe me,if the malware has lots of copy on the system,avira CANNOT repair it and the system will freeze by lots of SYSTEM SCAN windows

    and....AVG Free 2013 is pcmag s editor's choice (which got 5 stars on CNET and great points on PCAUTHORITY)
     
  24. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I don't think its a good idea ' installing an AV on an infected system. Had Avira already been installed, it might of prevented the infection

    Rename if repair not possible would have been another option. This would have renamed the extension xxx

    Avira has a rescue disc, in fact it doesn't even need a third party burning software, just double click the exe file

    You have far too much faith in these programs :D

    Most experts on anti malware forums, recommend reformat and reinstalling when virut has infected a machine
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What am I getting at? You made sure you complained away from the vendors user forum. They help people repair their systems there all the time. Also user input helps to tell a vendor when they need to get off their behinds and get their product up to snuff. Telling them directly and working with them usually works best.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.