please help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jaffers, Mar 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaffers

jaffers Registered Member

i have just lost an important spreadhseet. i am brand new to Acronis and tried backing up the spreadsheet but instead i lost ito_O?!?!?!?!? i have no idea where it is or where it went. I can show the log i got from acronis if that will help but i really need to get it back?

2. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

If you created a backup image, you can “plug” it and use Windows Explorer to search for the file.
    I don’t know how a file could have been lost during a backup, so if that’s what happened, I can’t help. I’m a little unclear of just what steps occurred to get you to where you are at now.

3. jaffers

i tried to do a differential file backup and i do have a log the last entry in the log says i tried to create a full backup archive from c:document and settings/jeffrey/mydocuments/ to "documentsandsettings/jeffrey/mydocuments/sportsbetting/ncaagrimeballs.xls"

i terminated this in the process of it happening because i wanted to make a backup of the second file listed.... since then the ncaagrimeballs file is gone?

4. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

There really is no need to use Acronis to backup your "My Documents" folder. It is far safer to use the built-in zip feature of XP if you want a compressed backup.

5. nattres

nattres Registered Member

Could you elaborate on "safer". When I bought TI9 I was hoping for a one stop solution, keeping a files backup and an image backup, both by TI9, on USB drive backed up again by less frequent copies to DVD.

6. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

My Opinion, just an opinion: