pinging back ???

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by hans, Aug 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hans

    hans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    georgia
    i did a couple of port scans and everythings cool except they keep suggesting that i stop my machine from answering them or acknowledging them,,why??,,and how do i do it,,i use windows xp home... o_O what can i say im a total newb :p
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    Hello hans,

    Welcome. :)

    Can you tell us what firewall you are using and what results you got and from which scanning site you used? If you wish for full stealth, there are things that can be done based upon what you have in your configuration. Also, are you using a router or other type of external firewall?

    Let us know and we'll see if we can advise you. :)

    Best Wishes,
    LowWaterMark
     
  3. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D I HAVE SAME PROBLEM I WISH TO BE COMPLETLY STEALTHY TO

    im useing zap pro latest build with web filtering how do i become pure stealth?

    thx in advance lol :cool:
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    Ah, Blaze, you are already a very stealthy guy. :D

    In default configuration, all the Zone Alarm products (Free, Plus and Pro) provide stealth. The default install sets the Internet Zone at High security and does not grant server rights to any programs. It isn't until the user either lowers the security level to Medium, grants server capabilities to one or more programs, or goes into the various custom settings and allows things link ping responses, that it loses stealth.

    What are your settings in the Firewall panel, and have you granted any programs the ability to act as a server?
     
  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :cool:ok under fire wall tab i have it on high on both internet zone and trusted zone


    on program control the only thing allow to have acess to internet is juno & aol ,norton all other security apps must ask ?? ?? to act as a or for internet acess

    all non security apps other then explorer browser not the pc icon get xx xx both on trusted and internet

    on my overview tab on prefence i have hide my ip

    what else do i need to do lol
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    High Security on Firewall tab and no Programs ever getting server rights should make you stealth. (Also assuming you haven't gone into the "Custom" buttons that are on the main Firewall tab to allow other things like pings.)

    Does some particular port scanning site say you are not stealth? If so, what site and what ports? You may wish to try a few different sites... (I think most of the Firewall scanning sites referenced here are still valid.)
     
  7. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    will i keep geting this ping to my pc from dial up phillidiphia kinda anoying
     
  8. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    We scanned the ports you requested, looking for any services that might be running on them, and did not find anything. If we had found open ports, we would have reported them to you and tried to produce information about the open port(s).

    You may want to pay a visit to our reading room (under Learn) and review the security overview document for general information on security risks.

    Keep in mind that this was a high speed cursory audit. Depending on your network configuration, you may want to perform this audit again to help remove false readings. More information about our audit can be found here.
     
  9. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    Ah, that looks like a good result there Blaze! :cool: Good not to have any ports exposing themselves.
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D it was so easy and painless thx for the link albove you gave me it kicked but so easy to do thx
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.