Phantom, Please Help

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by crazykidjoe, Sep 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Phantom, nice to see you again. I have a few questions?

    1. I can't do an ipconfig at the command prompt to get my dns info. For some reason, it doesn't work. I downloaded the tool and it provides me with information. I also have a router and it provides me some info. In the ipconfig too, my dns server is 192.168.0.1. Should I use this twice for dns alowed-1 rule?

    2. On the bootp/dhcp rule, I'm confused by what I need for this. In your directions, you use 192.168.0.1, but I'm not clear where you got it from based on your visuals. Is it your default gateway?

    Thanks for the help. I would love to learn how to do these rules one day..LOL.. Thanks c
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    I’m little confused; you said “I can't do an ipconfig at the command prompt to get my dns info” then you said “In the ipconfig too, my dns server is 192.168.0.1.”.

    If you only see a Primary DNS Address “192.168.0.1” than configure the “DNS-Allowed-1” with “Equal” rather than “Equal Or”.

    -

    There is a color index just below the first two Images; the DHCP Server is in green color circled, this is what you use to fill in the two “BOOTP or DHCP*” rules that needs to be configured and activated…
     
  3. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    I am confused on your diagram for “BOOTP or DHCP”. It seems to refer to the red cirled. Sorry for being so dense. Your red circled on the above image seems to be for the adapter address. Thanks again for the help..

    c
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    I can see how one can easily be confused; color index was only meant to represent Adapter / DHCP / DNS Addresses in the previous two images showing you whereabouts to find this informatics. And what’s below the horizontal line are rules which needs to be configured and then activated, the red circles in the images simply represents where about to make the necessary configurations for the rules.

    It’s probably best I use color index for the entire page, I’ll make the necessary changes today. Thanks :D
     
  5. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe!

    Following modifications to the page had been completed, hope you like… :blink:
     
  6. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Phantom, your the best. Thanks. Gonna check it out now. Thanks again..c
     
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    :)
     
  8. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Phantom. I finally have 4.1 configured. I can't seem to connect to the internet with the block all other packets. When I change it not to block, I can get access. Is there anything else that would stop me from getting to the net besides that? Thanks c
     
  9. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    That’s definitely a rule you don’t want Authorizing…

    Are you capable of sending me the Look ‘n’ Stop Log-file of the blocking events via E-mail? Phant0m@wilderssecurity.info


     
  10. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
  11. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    Don't use the ARP Requests / ARP Replies rules, use the default ARP rule "ARP : Authorize all ARP packets"...

    Regards,

     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    What you E-mailed me wasn’t Log-file it was “Packet’s Content”…

    Go-to Look 'n' Stop's "Options" screen and click on "Advanced options..." button and check "Raw Log" if hadn't already been checked, and after reproducing the anomaly than E-mail me the Raw-Log (raw*.log) file for the current date which will be located in \Soft4Ever\looknstop\logs\.
     
  13. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Sorry about that Phantom. I'm sending you the correct log this time. I can get to the net now that I deleted the ARP Requests / ARP Replies rules and kept only the default ARP rule "ARP : Authorize all ARP packets. Thanks for all the help..c
     
  14. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    :)
     
  15. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Phantom, had to resend. I couldn't get access from this computer, since I made the changes mentioned above. I had to reinstall the enhanced and reboot a few times..The email should be coming soon..c
     
  16. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    You mentioned the problem had been fixed, is there still further issues... ?

     
  17. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Phantom. I thought it was fixed and it was working fine. I lost my internet on my box running looknstop only after making the changes and after letting it sit awhile. I rebooted and put back the enhanced setting and I'm surfing again. I'm not sure what the problem is. Maybe it's me..LOL.. 2 other computers were running fine. One has ZA and the other McAfee. McAfee is not by choice..Thanks c
     
  18. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Your most recent Log-file had been edited so I couldn’t really make judgement on your issue, but the 2nd to last Log-file you E-mailed showed DNS issues… Make sure the DNS rules are properly configured with the Primary and Secondary DNS Addresses and verify there are only 2 DNS Addresses giving for your type of Connection otherwise use the other rule for 3 or more additional DNS Addresses…


    Regards,
     
  19. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    HI Phantom. What rule contains dns? I tried to do an ipconfig, but it fails to process it. I only see one dns server when I run ipconfig program. I made it equal to where you suggested. Maybe I can email you my info to make sure it's correct. Thanks again..c
     
  20. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey crazykidjoe

    E-mail me the Configured Phant0m``s Rule-set and Window Capture of the IPCONFIG /ALL event
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.