PGP software

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by thaysaitraibatbinh, Jul 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thaysaitraibatbinh

thaysaitraibatbinh Registered Member

Hi All,
    I am just a newbie and want to know more about PGP software, can anyone point me to a right direction? Thanx
    ThaySai

2. Pleonasm

Pleonasm Registered Member

PGP documentation is available from here. I recommend that you start by reading “An Introduction to Cryptography” and then glance through the sections of the “PGP Desktop for Windows” user guide that are of most interest.

One of the best ways to become familiar with PGP is to simply try it. The company offers a free 30-day trial (see here).

3. caspian

caspian Registered Member

Thanks for the reminder. I have been meaning to give it a try too.

4. SafetyFirst

SafetyFirst Registered Member

Pleonasm (or any other PGP user),

can you clarify, please, when i buy a PGP Desktop license is it once forever or do I have to renew the subscription every year (as I understand it's the latter).

If it is annual subscription, what happens to the encrypted data if I don't renew the subscription? Can I still use the software normally after the yearly subscription expires?

It might sound silly, but this is something that confuses me with their subscriptions and "perpetual licenses". Thanks in advance

5. dantz

dantz Registered Member

I just read their description and it seemed pretty clear to me. Your perpetual license will allow you to use the software indefinitely, but you will only receive upgrades, updates and official "PGP Bronze Support" for one year. Optionally you can buy additional years of support, which will include any new upgrades and updates that come along, but the software will keep on working irregardless.