PG3: Windows XP crashes

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by tlu, Sep 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Today I had the first big trouble with PG3:
    I started the application MP3Gain (from http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/) which is a software for normalizing mp3's.
    I loaded a folder on my harddisk in order to normalize the 160 mp3's within. MP3Gain started normally and began to work. But after some seconds the application hung. I tried to close it but that was impossible. Finally I found out that I couldn't start the taskmanager nor the command line - Windows was frozen. There was nothing left than to press the reset button.

    After rebooting I started MP3Gain a second time with the same effect - I had to use the reset button again.
    In the event viewer I found the following application error three times:

    Fehlgeschlagene Anwendung dcsuserprot.exe, Version 3.0.0.0, fehlgeschlagenes Modul ntdll.dll, Version 5.1.2600.2180, Fehleradresse 0x00011e58.

    Sorry to have this only in German but I think it is understandable for all forum members.

    I made a third attempt and disabled PG3. Result: MP3Gain worked flawlessly.

    Jason - do you have any explanation for this problem?
     
  2. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I'll try mp3gain over here and see if I can find any issues. Was there any alerts regarding it in ProcessGuard?
     
  3. tlu

    tlu Guest

    No, not at all. The strange thing was that PG didn't even ask me for permission although I hadn't started mp3gain before. (However, there was an error message by PG itself after the reboot. I can't remember exactly what it said. In any case the driver was loaded and PG seemed to work.)
    This is an observation I had made several times before. For example, some days ago I updated a packing program (for zip files) - but although the MD5 checksum must have changed PG3 didn't care about it.

    There were other cases where it struck me as rather strange that PG3 didn't ask for permission although I was sure that I hadn't started that application before. On the other hand in some cases PG asked me for permission where it shouldn't have - it seems that sometimes settings are forgotten.

    These are isolated cases, so they are not really reproducable for me.
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi tlu, Do you have CFTmon.exe active on your machine? As this can cause checksumming issues when using public beta.

    Pilli
     
  5. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Hello Pilli. Yes, cftmon.exe is active. What is the function of that program and how does it affect PG?
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    tlu, It is to do with the language function in office applications, you can usually disable it without loss of functionality.

    In the latest private betas this issue has been fixed
     
  7. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Good to know! :)
    Thank you, Pilli.
     
  8. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    How can you do that ?
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi 884126,
    Control Panel - Regional and language options - Languages - Make sure that both Supplemental language support items are unticked unless you need them. Then click Details - Advanced and Turn off advanced text services. Note: the recommendations about East Asian languages.

    HTH Pilli
     
  10. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    Cool thx very much.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.