PG3 and Diskeeper 9

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by A884126, Oct 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    Hi.

    I have some concern with Diskeeper Service which seems to block when Diskeeper is launching itself during screen saver.

    Is there any special that I am not aware to make it run smoothly?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi A884126, You can add your screensaver .scr to the protection list with the default allows.
    Diskeeper probably installs a service/driver and may need to be given the necessary allows. The alerts may give you a clue.

    HTH Pilli - Time for a pint :)
     
  3. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    I've got Diskeeper 9 too. Great program!! PG is a very complicated thing to control. (like my wife!!)

    Hi Pilli, Jooske!! Where is everyoneo_O?? Am I imagining things or has the forum gone dead? I see you around but not Jooske very much. There seems to be hardly any new posts for days except the odd one or two and I'm getting real lonely without anyone to talk to here.

    Dave
     
  4. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    I suspect most everyone is waiting for either Beta 3 or the final release of PG 3.0 :D ;)

    Leastwise I am :D
     
  5. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    A human - a real live person? I thought I was Lost In Space - all alone and deserted! It's really eery lately. As if a nuclear war started and there's no-one left. The place just became deserted in the last week. Very strange because I've been coming here for a long time and never saw such a quiet time as this.

    Dave
     
  6. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Yes, it has been very quiet...which is a good sign for Jason and Wayne. :rolleyes:

    Am quite anxious to see the final version of PG 3.0 released. I'm having no problems with Beta 2; however, it's always nice to see the "beta tag" disappear.
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yeh, It has been a little quieter in the last week,mainly because people have had less problems with the public beta 2 :) Which has given DCS and the private beta testers a chance to check out the nearly finished V3 with lots of tweaks etc. that Jason has followed up on.
    We are spending quite a lot of time on the Help file ATM as this has undergone a major re-write due to the many new features ov V3.

    Cheers. Pilli :)
     
  8. KoreanBoy

    KoreanBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Define NEW features. Will it have new functionalities? new stuff, or just bug fixes ?

    :p
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Koreanboy, You have seen many of them ;) You will have to wait now :eek:
     
  10. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Oh Pilli! You're such a teeease :) ;) :D
     
  11. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Pilli you and I ought to team up one day. You the No.1 teaser on DCS and me the No.1 Stirrer. We could have a lot of fun making people frustrated, angry and upset as well as get a lot of laughs!!
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    ;) Pilli the "Teaser Geezer"

    This may be what the help file will look like :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    How about a nice blonde for a tour guide? That would make it the the most read help file in history :p :p :p A talking guide would be nice too, to get away from the usual drab 'sit alone and read the boring help file' syndrome.
    Do something unique that hasn't been done before like having music and dancing girls as an into.
     
  14. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    :)
    This, of course, would require a genderless blonde? :p

    Process Guard is already unique;) The help file that you describe would probably need it's own CD!
    Maybe you could get Bowserman and Tassie Devil to create a "Special" but I doubt DCS would condone it :D

    Cheers. Teaser Geezer
     
  15. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    This is the time to promote women's rights!

    Dave
     
  16. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    ROFL :D I'm ducking for you!
     
  17. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    Blond girl...? very far from my concern...

    BTW screen saver is not the concern as I got the same problem when I launch it manually.
     
  18. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    Hi, I am using PG 3 and Diskeeper 9 Pro. Currently I have no issues with either. Diskeeper seems to work fine with 'set it and forget it' set to screensaver mode. However I did have problems configuring my firewall to get it to work. Have you tried to disable your firewall to see if that is causing the problem (remember to unplug from the internet first!)

    (None of the diskeeper modules are in my protection list, and neither is the screensaver app, I simply use the default WinXP screensaver)

    Let us know if the firewall is the problem, and if it is, which one you are using. I may be able to help with the configuration. (I use Outpost 2.5)

    Hope this helps
    Tom
     
  19. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    I am using Diskkeeper v8.0 without any conflict with PG v3 :)

    regards,

    gkweb.
     
  20. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    I think that frogfoot is on the right track with this.

    If I remember correctly, Diskeeper when started, also starts mmc.exe (Microsoft Management Console) and attempts to connect to the IP 0.0.0.0 (your own computer) or 127.0.0.1 (Localhost/ your own computer). This is nothing to be concerned about however, as Diskeeper just has a little dialogue going on with the Microsoft Management Console.

    So I would guess that you either haven't created the appropriate rule in your firewall to allow this dialogue, or maybe you haven't allowed mmc.exe to start?

    Hopefully you can get on the right track ;).


    Best regards,
    Jade
     
  21. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    frogfoot, FYI this was my thread regarding OP and Diskeeper Entreprise
    http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11875

    However since I uninstall PG3 I am not facing any concern anymore.
    frogfoot, can you send me a snapshot of PG3 rules you made for Doskeeper and MMC?

    I have a ticket open with Executive support but as they do not know PG3 I cannot not find the solution.

    Thanks
     
  22. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    MMC.exe Protected from Termination and Modifcation
    authorized to Modify and Read
    install global hooks

    No protection for any diskeeper 9 components (DKicon.EXE, DKservice.EXE, DFRGNTFS.EXE etc)

    Diskeeper is running sweetly here, with PG3 and outpost 2.5.
    Hope this helps
    Tom
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.