PG3.0 + GIANT AntiSpyware Resident?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by LuckMan212, Nov 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LuckMan212

    LuckMan212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    Has anyone had any experience running both PG3.050 alongside the GIANT Antispyware Resident Agent modules? (specifically the "System" and "Application" agents... I don't use the "internet" one)

    The two seem to be behaving OK for the moment on my system, but I just purchased GIANT and am still learning the ins-and-outs of it. I don't want to bog down my system with un-necessary or overlapping protection.

    I was just curious if anyone else was successfully (or un-successfully) using this combo? Thanks! :D
     
  2. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    i run giant along with pg 3.5 and have no conflicks at all. good choice of spyware program it works very well. i have only the defaults set for giant and pg stays quiet.
     
  3. LuckMan212

    LuckMan212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    Thanks... I like Giant too. It does have a bunch of UI bugs that I've discovered (I emailed the developers--hopefully they will be fixed) but that's to be expected of a v1.0 release. Overall I like the layout, feature set and speed of it a lot.

    The fact that it "plays nice" with PG3 is the icing on the cake :)
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    I am also running the Giant resident modules with PG 3.05. All works fine.

    Pete
     
  5. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Same here, PG, Giant, along with NAV 2003 and Ewido.
     
  6. Bdiamond

    Bdiamond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    N Carolina, USA
    I have had no problems Running PG3 with GIANT, KAV5.0, and Ewido on WinXP with SP2 and all the latest updates. There was no difficulty installing PG on top of this system and it has run without difficulty for almost a month now. It was not necessary to reinstall the OS prior to the PG installation.
     
  7. kwesi

    kwesi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Hi, people. A quick question, which I hope is not too off-topic. I trialled Giant, & was very impressed. Does anyone here know whether the BSOD bug with Giant scanning & PG protection enabled (which, I believe, DCS, tried to sort out in PG - didn't work for me), has been sorted out?

    I'll trawl the forum here & others, & may e-mail Giant about this if no enlightenment is forthcoming. Thanks.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    I run Giant in all modes real time/scanning and have no issues with ProcessGuard whatsoever. Note latest version of PG and latest paid version of Giant.

    Pete
     
  9. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    same here no problems at all :rolleyes:
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Am I the only one that feels Giant is kind of steep? Now I don't mind paying for something. But $29 for one year for a spyware program seems high. Of course that is just my opinion.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Bill

    Its about the same as an Anti Virus. Today the spyware is as bad if not worse then some of the virii. All it has to do is protect me once and I am delighted to have paid them for it.

    Pete
     
  12. LuckMan212

    LuckMan212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    252
    It is a bit high. but subsequent years are only $19 to continue your updates. This is the price we pay to be secure. A bit like paying the mafia for "protection"
     
  13. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    I'm very happy with Giant AS and find it's worth every cent. Good product. Very detailed info regarding malware and very informative SPYNET Community.

    Works very well with PG 3.05 although there was a bug with the previous PG version which has now been fixed so make sure you're using 3.05 & everything will go smoothly.

    Dave
     
  14. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Dave, I have just bought Giant after 14 days evaluation and, like you, I have had no issues at all with Giant's resident features when used with ProcessGuard V3050.

    Cheers. Pilli :)
     
  15. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Hi Pilli,

    How are you? Good to see you like Giant. It has a few more features than other AS especially the checkpoints which are a fabulous idea.

    Dave
     
  16. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.