PG Uninstall problems

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by worldcitizen, Nov 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Can anyone here help with uninstalling PG.

    I uninstalled PG months ago but still get an error log in the event viewer that reads like this: And the service PG is still listed in my services although I have uninstalled PG long ago. Is there any way to clean this all up?

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7000
    Date: 11/2/2005
    Time: 7:29:56 PM
    Description:
    The procguard service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the file specified.


    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    Dave
     
  2. SpikeyB

    SpikeyB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    478
  3. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Hi Spikey,

    I found and deleted a service called Procguard in the registry from the link to the registry keys you so kindly took the time to give me so hopefully that should do it.

    Thanks for your help.

    I'll post back if it still is causing problems but if it's not in registry anymore then it shouldn't be listed anywhere as a service but with Windows you never know.

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  4. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    We (myself and the new programmer) found recently that the OLD uninstall was only working if you do so from OUR shortcut - the one created by the installer. Add/Remove programs was not running the driver uninstall first, thus not uninstalling properly.

    We've since fixed it so when the install completes, the driver changes the registry settings for the Add/Remove uninstall to use our method as well. Problem definitely solved!
     
  5. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Thanks Gavin for replying.

    I was using the latest version 3.150 so I can't see where this issue has been fixed as this is the latest version. Can you elaborate please as I can't see any fix by re-installing the same version which caused the problem?

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  6. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Sorry Dave, NEW version meaning v3.200. Due out very soon, since it is mostly a smaller update to fix a few issues. I do expect it will be out soon, after the 2nd beta soon.
     
  7. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Thanks Gavin.

    The 3.150 version lasted on my PC for ages but then I got that dreaded PG is not loaded and your PC is not protected message at start up and so I uninstalled it. It was the most stable version I have ever had and I had it on my PC for many months. I don't know what caused it not to start up but I couldn't correct it and didn't want to go through another installation.

    Apparently once this error occurs PG will simply not load and as I didn't want to go through a re-install I decide to uninstall it.

    Gavin, how about a 'repair' option in the uninstall menu as many programs have now? Sometimes it's just a registry key or some minor thing which needs repairing so a repair option would greatly assist in making this program more stable in so far as not having to uninstall it should it refuse to load. A simple repair option could repair lost or damaged program elements thus making it easier for the user to maintenance the program should it have problems.

    Dave
     
  8. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Only if we make the switch to Microsoft Installer. This might happen so we can do upgrades as well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.