PG Beta 3, Protection does not disable?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by siliconman01, Sep 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    When I disable Protection using Process Guard and click on Apply Changes, it does not appear that Protection is disabled. The PG icon remains RED in the systray instead of changing to grey with a X through it. If I close Process Guard and then restart Process Guard, the systray icon is still RED which indicates Protection is still enabled.

    PG 3.0 Beta, Windows XP-SP2
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Another glitch until the final is released I'm afraid. Thanks for pointing it out.
     
  3. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    AFAIU what you mention refers only to the indication of whether protection is disabled or not, not to whether it actually is disabled. So the fix would be another tray icon and not a patching of the disabling itself.

    If you do mean it the other way round, tho (no way to really disable protection), please again say so.
    TIA,
    Andreas
     
  4. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    so how do you disable pg 3.0 to upgrade to a newer program when it come's out i think it would be impossible to uninstall if it is still running.
     
  5. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    donsan, as things stand now, you are able to de-activate PG (by just checking "disable protection" and clicking "apply changes"). The thing is only that the interface won't reflect that changed state. Which is something easy to fix for the final release.
    ...unless siliconman or someone else states that is indeed impossible to deactivate protection (then you could still "manually" uninstall it from a boot into safe mode).

    HTHH,
    Andreas
     
  6. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    You can test disabled protection by running FileMon. Filemon fails to run with protection enabled (assuming it is not in the protection list with Install Drivers/Services allowed) and runs with protection disabled.

    Nick
     
  7. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    thank you all for the info. i found i was able to uninstall the program by unticking all protection then went to task mgr. and shut down pg from there i uninstalled the program then reinstalled with no problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.