PG and (PC Tools') Spyware Doctor

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by SG1, Jun 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Been running trial ver. of PC Tools' Spyware Doctor, and when the app starts up PG tells me that Spyware Doctor attempts to "modify" seemingly everything under the sun that's running at the time, notably the AV NOD32. What goes on here - there a legit reason that Spyware Doctor should be allowed to modify anything?

    Thanks for info,
    SG1 (Pat)
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    spyware doctor places kill bits as part of it's protection like spywareblaster does and PG could be alerting to it trying to place those killbits.
     
  3. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    It isn't a killbit issue (this just applies to ActiveX controls) but many anti-spyware applications work by injecting their DLLs into every other running program (usermode hooking). Assuming that you trust Spyware Doctor, you should allow this by giving it Modify permissions in PG.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.