PG and Dr. Web av conflicting

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by BlackHawk1, Jan 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BlackHawk1

    BlackHawk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    I tried out PG, but it won't coexist with Dr. Web antivirus. Any ideas why? Anyone else here try the two together? Any success? I tried 3 times and it just wouldn't work. After the PG install... Every time I would reboot the computer it would seem like it was going to make it back to the desktop, but it never would. It would get stuck at a certain point. I had to go to Safe Mode to remove PG and then I got back into windows. Using Windows XP Pro SP2 with all current updates.

    I uninstalled Dr. Web and tried out BitDefender av... PG seems to coexist with BitDefender just fine. I would rather use Dr. Web though. Can one of you Diamond tech guys test PG and Dr. Web av out together and see what the deal is? I would be very thankful if you could. I would like to use PG and Dr. Web together. Thank you.
     
  2. Barney

    Barney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Posts:
    119
    I had the exact same problem. I got the answer to this problem from here on the wilders site. If I remember correctly. what you want to do in your case is uninstall PG, uninstall Bitdefender, reinstall DRWEB then reinstall Process guard. After installing process guard, before rebooting, set SPIDERNT to disregard scanning the following files located in the system32 folder: (PG.DAT, and two other files containing PG in it. I can't remember their exact names). Anyway, when you set Spidernt to ignore these files, reboot the machine and everything will work fine. I will check my machine when I get home and give you the exact name of the other two files.

    Barney
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2006
  3. BlackHawk1

    BlackHawk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Thank you Barney!!! :) If anyone else can add to this I will be greatful.
     
  4. Barney

    Barney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Posts:
    119
    ok, here are two of the three files you need to set spidernt to ignore. Follow the instructions I gave you yesterday and set spidernt to ignore (pguard.dat, pghash.dat and one more file that I still don't know the name of". These files are in the system32 folder.

    Barney
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    System32\PGUARD.DAT
    System32\PGHASH.DAT
    System32\drivers\procguard.sys

    Ignore these 3 files in the guard, and all should be fine :)
     
  6. Krazaf

    Krazaf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    8
  7. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    That would help too ! :) thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.