PG 3.4 beta 1: userinit.exe - unable to ask user about at least 1 execution

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Chubb, Jun 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Process Guard 3.4 Beta 1

    I got the following alert:

    userinit.exe: unable to ask user about at least 1 execution, defaulting to permit one (unable to ask user)

    I get this alert every time I boot to Windows 2000.

    Why was PG unable to ask user? It never ask me for action about this. Is it a bug or by design? o_O

    It happened in Windows 2000 SP4 with all hotfixes.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    IIRC, userinit starts before PG has a chance to fully load. If you are sure he file is correct, i.e. from MS and not infected by anything, I would right-click and change it to Always Allow. That way you will not get that alert again.

    HTH
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Thanks, I will try it. ;)
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Chubb

    Have you changed any Wallpaper Desktop or Appearance in anyway, because that will cause the userinit.exe call.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  5. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967


    Hi TheQuest,

    I didn't change any wallpaper or appearance of the desktop. I think it is strange at first because it never happen in version 3.15. PG 3.4 beta 1 was installed in my Windows 2000 partition. I haven't tried it in Windows XP yet. ;)
     
  6. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    You could put the file in PG to ask. That way you`ll see what is trying to start it the next time.
     
  7. some made up name

    some made up name Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    not sure that will work ... seeing that PG isn't fully running by that point

    also, i think 3.15 did have the 'unable to ask user' ... just that it didn't warn you so loudly that it had some (i think you had to actually look in the security tab and manually look through the last action to see it)
     
  8. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    I have set it to "Permit Always" and PG didn't show the unable to ask user anymore. Will try a few more reboots. Thanks all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.