PG 3.15 Issues

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by redwolfe_98, Feb 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i have issues with pg 3.15.. i use boclean, and with pg 3.15 running, boclean's pocessor usage, "CPU", triples to 30% (in task manager), and my internet connection speed drops from 3900 kbps to 3000 kbps.. (i am using a cable connection)
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi redwolfe_98,

    Is that a steady 30% usage? I run BOClean and PG 3.15 on three systems and the pattern below is typical. On my laptop, the usage spikes do approach 30%.

    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  3. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    After taking a closer look, this is the pattern with PG disabled and then enabled (via the tray icon). The difference is noticeable.

    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  4. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i think i spoke too soon.. i reinstalled PG 3.15, and it is not slowing down my internet connection, at least, not for now.. however, in the past, i noticed that my internet speed was down, and when i disabled pg, it went back up.. and likewise, when i disabled PG, boclean's "cpu" dropped from 30% to 11 or 13%..

    there is an issue with boclean's processor-usage.. yea, it flunctuates.. if i check for an update, and then boclean resets itself, the "cpu" drops, considerably, but then it will work itself back up..

    even without pg installed, boclean's "cpu" can run high.. recently, i was running yahoo messenger and realplayer at the same time (without pg's being installed), and boclean was running at 22% "cpu"..

    right now, it is running at 2% cpu, after checking for an update, and boclean's then resetting itself.. however, before checking for an update so that boclean would reset itself, it was running at 29% cpu..

    without PG's being installed, boclean 4.12 would then typically run between 9 and 13% cpu (without programs like yahoo messenger or realplayer running)..

    thanks.. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2005
  5. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    I'm on cable too and have not had any slowdown issues.

    Nick
     
  6. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    BOCLean 4.12.002 is interacting very poorly here (XP Pro SP2) with PG 3.15 It is claiming a ludicrous amount of of CPU time ( I am seeing an increase of the order of 6x ) and a doubling or more of CPU Usage, spiking to 50-70% every 10 seconds. Uninstalling PG 3.15 results in an immediate return to more acceptable CPU figures for BOClean.

    I have noted others in a BOClean forum elsewhere have seen similar unacceptable CPU activity from BOCLean 4.12.002 when running PG 3.x
     
  7. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    FWIW, I seem to have stumbled across a solution of sorts: excluding procguard.exe pgaccount.exe and DCSUserProt.exe in BOClean has reduced spiking in BOClean 4.12.002 from 50-70% to around 10-15% and massively reduced BOClean's CPU time whilst running PG 3.15
     
  8. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Just curious but nick what program do you use to view the performance of individual programs like that?
     
  9. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi Matt_Smi,

    I'm using Process Explorer from Sysinternals (as a Task Manager replacement). It does require "install drivers" permission in PG.

    Nick
     
  10. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Thanks, I will defiantly check that out, looks like a good program to diagnose problems like the poster is having. Does it need to be installed or does it just run from the exe?
     
  11. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Just drop it in any folder and execute it.

    Nick
     
  12. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi Howard,

    Thanks for the tip. The reduction in CPU usage is substantial (from ~15% down to ~2%).

    Nick
     
  13. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to stick and the CPU 10-second spike slowly increases: for a reason completely beyond me, opening the BOClean exclude window and then closing it again has the effect of reducing the spike to the low level initially seen when actually selecting PG exes for exclusion. But it will climb up again. Hopefully the BOClean folk will come up with a solution.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.