PG 2.000 & XP.SP2 power conflict

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by vaseloid, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vaseloid

    vaseloid Guest

    Ever since I upgraded to WinXP.SP2, I have been experiencing frequent system crashes for no apparent reason (ie, opening new applications/ folders, among one of varieties of reason). Whenever this happens, I would need to hard-shutdown & reboot. HOWEVER, strange as it might seem, when I disable PG protection the system remains stable.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi vaseloid & welcome, SP2 does cause problems with some systems, especially if you did not disable Process Guard during the SP2 install.
    After installing you should re-enable PG in learning mode run your normal programs & then reboot then diasable learning mode.

    A new version of Process Guard is in late beta as I write and is very stable under SP2, it also has new protection abilities & many minor nits fixed. ;)

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. vaseloid

    vaseloid Guest

    Thx 4 your reply...

    it's comforting to know that the fault is not my own ;)
    4 your info, PG has been installed AFTER the SP2 install...should i take y
    our advice & disable learning mode (does that delete everything it has learned?) and reenable it?

    cool!
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Learning mode just allows everthing to be seen by Process Guard without any alerts when you first install which allows you time to watch the logs and make any necessary adjustments to you protected list. It also adds and started .exe.s to the checksum list without notification.
    Disabling learning mode does not remove any lists or settings :)

    Vaseloid, as a matter on interest, are you using the trial or a full copy?

    HTH Pilli
     
  5. steverio

    steverio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    This thread and other SP2 remarks....

    I wonder if it would be better to wait until the next PG is out until upgrading to SP2 just to avoid a potential conflict?
     
  6. Whynot

    Whynot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Just for info. I've experienced similar glitches following the SP2 upgrade, not just with PG but also some browser difficulties - I use Firefox 0.9.2. However, on another PC with XP then SP2 installed clean, security software followed by other applications most (but not all) of my problems have gone. I continue to have some browser problems but that is due to Firefox issues I'm sure. Just my tuppence worth.
    :cool:
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Unfortunately MS decided to change the SP2 release version quite a bit from the RC releases, so small developers are left with more work to do to give their products full SP2 compatibility, hence many ppl are experiencing problems with their programs. Good ol' Bill :D
     
  8. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi,

    I am kind of happy to see that I am not the only one having trouble with is full Process Guard 2.0. And If I understand correctly the problems might be cause by the SP2, that's a relief, since that means that the next version of PG should be stable and provoque no problem to a system having Windows XP and the SP2 ;-)

    By the way, when is due the release of the next version of PG cause it is very deceiving to have a paid program that cannot be use because it only screw my system :-(

    Atomas31
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Atomas31, We are currently testing the beta, should not be too long now.
     
  10. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Thank you for your response Pilli, it looks like I have no choice to wait (after all I have already paid for this product :)

    Keep us inform when the new version is up and running, cause I can wait to have my PG working back!!!

    PS : Will I have to completely removed and uninstalled PG 2.0 before installing the new version? And does my actual license key, will work with the new version of PG?

    Thanks,
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Atomas31, You will probably have to uninstall the old version but the new features will make up for any inconvenience.
    You will be informed about your keyfile in due course, the upgrade is free to all licenced users:)
     
  12. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    was that what it was the sp2 causeing problems with my pg v2.0

    i had stalls puter freezes with pg v2.0

    since i disabled it i hadnt have problems kinda sucks

    i was really geting into it the desghien was beatiful

    only complaint was an anoying icon on task bar for start up icons on task bar always slow pc dowen

    the ns clean company knows this that why they added a hide icon feature

    dont think pg 2 has that
     
  13. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Blazie, not long to wait for the new version :)

    Ad your suggestion about hiding the PG Icon to the PG wish list ;)

    Personally I like to see the alerts it gives.

    Not sure how a systray Icon can slow your PC down?

    Cheers. Pilli
     
  14. vaseloid

    vaseloid Guest

    Pilly,

    Per your request for the next release, is it possible to get some information about the file in question in the alerter? As of now, PG gives only the file path info yet it's impossible to do any research (via on the web) until you're forced to either accept or block the file -- too late by then to regret your choice. Ideally, I would prefer PG to provide some relevant info (such as the creation date, etc) on the spot, and better yet, to be able to open the web or system folder to find further info about the file.

    As to my copy of PG, it's a trialware, which I'm most certain to upgrade upon the next release. But I'm still in a trial-&-error mode to see if the benefit outweighs the cost. I'm currently using Ad-watch by Ad-aware to detect registry change (isn't that enough? ;) )
     
  15. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D lol isnt pg perty resonably priced lol

    most of there apps are except tds that mofo took me forever to get

    but way worth it

    boclean perty good to i love haveing a sniper on the roof watching my back

    tds is like a tank in front of me and boclean is like a sniper on the roof :ninja:

    deadly combo
     
  16. vaseloid

    vaseloid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Hey mr.B, when I say "cost" I don't mean in terms of $$$, but rather in terms of usability (ie. is it worth the trouble of maintaining? does it have what I really need? blah, blah...). It's pure cost/benefit analysis. Hope that has enlightened you a bit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.