PG 1.2 Global Hooks Problem

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by siliconman01, Jan 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Am getting these two errors on Reboot when I use the Global Hook Protection. Taskswitch is a Microsoft pgm and ccapp is NIS 2004

    Welcome to DiamondCS Process Guard.
    This program does not need to be running for your system to be protected.

    23 Jan 07:51:40 - Window Log Started
    23 Jan 07:51:41 - [HOOK] c:\windows\system32\taskswitch.exe [1608] was blocked from creating a global hook [0000000D][00000000]
    23 Jan 07:51:41 - [HOOK] c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\ccapp.exe [1816] was blocked from creating a global hook [00000005][00000002]
    23 Jan 07:51:45 - Process Guard Protection is ACTIVE
     
  2. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Simply add taskswitch.exe and ccapp.exe to the protection list, and for their OPTIONS, turn on "Allow Global Hooks" :)
    The basic idea is that you want to block ALL hooks EXCEPT for the ones that you specifically allow.
     
  3. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    OOOPPS, I need to do some HELP reading before barking.. :D ;)

    Sorry!!! :blink:
     
  4. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Yes we've extended the helpfile quite a bit with this release, please take some time to read through it - not just because it will answer most of your existing questions, but also because it will let you know and raise your awareness about many things you may otherwise not know about :)
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    99% of people can run without the hook blocking option 99% of the time :D
     
  6. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    You mean you went to all that effort for a 0.01% possibility? Wow!

    I also hit a Driver/Services block when activating AOL 9.0 Optimized...Windows/System32/Services.exe. Figured that one out all on my own. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.