PestPatrol false positives?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by notageek, Nov 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are these false positives? I know ntsvc.ocx has something to do with visual basic and I don't have that installed anymore. But the other 2 I don't know what they are. I scanned with Ewido, Trojan hunter, MSAS, McAfee AV, Ad-aware, Spybot D&D and zone alarm anti spyware and nothing came up.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 12, 2005
  2. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Here's the rest of the first screenie.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    If you are a user of IE-Spyad or Spybot's Immuization or Spywareblasters Restricted Sites protection....sgrunt.biz is in their respective database. If you look in the registry location and the dword value is 4....it's an IE Restricted Site entry.
     
  4. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    LOL Thanks for the answer I was thinking maybe that's what it was. Now what is the other one that claims it's winspy?
     
  5. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    IMO it have to do with visual basic, and is it a false positive.
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Sorry....you are on your own....I'm batting 100 :cool:

    I have no clue about winspy
     
  7. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    OK, it might have to do with VB. I did have it installed for a while. Thanks Smokey. PestPatrol is cool but lot of FPs. LOL
     
  8. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    You're welcome!:)

    I use PestPatrol only OD, in particular for detecting RiskWare.

    Indeed PestPatrol is very cool:cool: , but like you said: be careful with the FP's!
     
  9. Carver

    Carver Guest

    That is why I don't have it, too many FPs for me.
     
  10. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    For sure a lot of FP's, but remind, Pestpatrol is the best on the market in detecting Riskware......;)

    Therefore my advice: use it, but only OD, and only for detect Riskware.
    And don't forget: don't delete anything without you are 100% sure what you are doing!*puppy*

    When you are not: ask first advice what to do, for example here at Wilders...:)
     
  11. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, if you're in doubt ask like I did. Asking here is always the best place to ask. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.