Personal firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sn00py, May 15, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sn00py

sn00py Registered Member

Hi

I am quite new to the security side of the net but am trying. After reading around I think I will settle with @guard3.2.2 and Keirio as firewall.

If There Is A Reason Why I Should Not Please Kick Me !!

Assuming i go this way and have read the faq I would then want to configure the in/out options.

As most if not all of u have been at this longer than me what would your in/out list look like to maintain best security (Aware that u are never totaly secure) I would immagine there is a standard plus preference ??

If i have overlooked an answer to the above somewhere then a nudge would be nice.

later

00 :)

2. root

root Registered Member

Hi  sn00py. No kicking around here, but following is my personal opinion.
    Using two firewalls together is not a good idea. Too much chance for conflicts of interest. Choose your firewall well, as it should do the job for you without any help from another.
    If you do not use Win2k SP2 or XP with ICS, then Outpost is an excellent choice for you since you had an interest in @Guard.   Here: WWW.agnitum.com
    @Guard is no longer supported and that is not a good choice to start with right now. You will find Outpost does much the same thing. You will also get excellent help if needed at the Agnitum Forum.
    Kerio is ok for some users, I prefer Outpost as it is more powerful, versatile, and a wonderful work in progress with improvements coming all the time.
    I imagine others will come along with their choices. Just ignore them. I was here first. He he he.  :D :cool:

3. snowman

snowman Guest

Snoopy

may I VERY much suggest the you take Root's advice an not use two firewalls....thats not a good idea at all!!!

snowman

4. UNICRON

UNICRON Technical Expert

Root, what criteria did you use to come to the conclusion Outpost is more powerful and versitile?