Personal Firewall and memory usage

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sukarof, May 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    PrivateFirewall and memory usage

    I usually dont care about memory usage since I have plenty of it.
    I am testing Privatefirewall from privacyware and did notice that it takes over 200MB.
    I just wonder if this is normal for this firewall?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 24, 2008
  2. dmenace

    dmenace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Posts:
    275
    200 MB definetely sounds like to much.

    Outpost, a fairly bloated firewall uses 70 MB shared by 2 processes on my machine.

    There is probably a memory leak in the firewall. Only if this firewall is like a suite with lots of packages it might use more ram. But 200 MB is too much.
     
  3. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Yeah.. it sounds to be too much. I have tried many firewalls and never seen any use that much. Privatefirewall has a quite detailed logging feature, I guess that could be a reason. I turned off the firewall and restarted it. In the beginning it was about 30MB but it slowly crawls up. It is 90MB after a couple of hours. I cant find anywhere to turn the logging off though.
    Ah well I´ll contact support to see what they have to say about it.
     
  4. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Any firewall that uses 200MB would not be on my PC. Outpost usage is about all I will tolerate. :ouch:
     
  5. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I got a response from support, they said that it is not normal behavior for Privatefirewall.
    They want to know more about my configuration so they can investigate why this happens.
     
  6. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I am not familiar with this firewall, but at least it sounds like they care. :thumb:
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I believe the Webroot Desktop Firewall is an OEM if Private Firewall. And the WDF had (and may continue to have) a memory leak of some sorts. Maybe the reason is related?
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hello,
    A security app that uses more than 25MB > /dev/null.
    Mrk
     
  9. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    According your screenshot sukarof, many process use more RAM than expected. May be you can use Process Explorer to have a second thought about PF RAM consumption ?

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  10. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Processexplorer does show exactly the same amount of used memory.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.