Perfect disk = blue screen

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by lynchknot, Nov 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Hello. I have been trying to install PD 7 (uninstalled 6.0) but every time (3) I get a blue screen as soon as the installer reaches, "removing install files" Does anyone know why this is occuring? What kind of info would you need to help me troubleshoot this? Thank you.

    xp pro/amd xp2000/1gb pc2700/
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
  3. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Thanks Ronjor - It checked it out and it's none of that. I just re-installed 6.0 without any issue. There is something about 7.0 some software on my pc does not agree with - I guess.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    lynchknot

    If you have tried Raxco support, could you post any results you come up with?
    I'm curious to see what the problem is. Thanks
     
  5. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    ..waiting for reply :)
     
  6. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Response (not helpful-does not solve installation issue) I can install 6.0 - it just won't defragment because I had folder guard installed at one time so all files are excluded.

    ME =
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    lynchknot

    That's a strange answer if I may say so.

    Did you have problems with 6.0 at all?
     
  8. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I have no problems installing and running version 6. The problem I do have is the fact that all files are excluded because I had an app called Folder Guard. Folder Guard contains a DLL that does not allow PD (and only PD) access to files/folders to defragment. They know about this and it's in their knowledge base. I have uninstalled the FG app and have searched for the DLL but have not found it on my PC. I performed registry searches and cleans as well - no dice. I thought a new version of PD might solve the problem.
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    lynchknot

    Thanks for the clarification.
     
  10. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I looked everywhere. Does anyone know how to do what Jason stated?

     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    I would turn off Folder Guard, before either trying to Defrag or Disk Image. Otherwise I suspect you will continue to have problems.

    Pete
     
  12. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I have long ago as I have stated above :)
     
  13. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    ...So, I take it no one knows how to enable what Jason instructed? I would rather learn here rather that send them another email - thanks.

     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    1. Right click on the folder then properties>security

    If system isn't there add it and make sure full control is checked.


    2. If you aren't sure what you are doing call Raxco techsupport and ask for Jason.

    He will gladly talk you thru it. I have had quite a few conversations with both Jason and Greg at Raxco techsupport. They are patient, thorough and quite helpful. They will both stick with you until you understand. These guys are great.

    Pete

    PS In case anyone is wondering why I had need of them, it was because a backup program Bounceback played havoc with FD-ISR and I did an uninstall of FD-ISR leaving the data in place(an allowed option) Had a corrupted uninstall traced to Bounceback, and couldn't reinstall FD-ISR. I had to manually remove all of FD-ISR. Learned all about these permission settings.
    UGH!
     
  15. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Thanks Peter but what do you mean
    - every single folder is excluded - the whole drive - PD deframents in seconds because there is nothing to defragment.

    and I see no security tab

    http://img102.exs.cx/img102/5015/notab.png
     
  16. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Ditto. Hope I don't get anyone mad at me but I have never seen better tech support than Raxco's. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Howdy Lynch! :D

    I could have sworn you're on xp pro, but that sure looks like home with only 3 tabs up...or what Peter is talking about,
    can you take full control through group policy editor (you are on pro, correct?)
    Talk to Jason or Greg as suggested by Pete...

    When you get this worked out, could you please post you're solution for all to learn :-*

    GF

    PS - Page on dll problems (debugging tools).......http://msdn.microsoft.com/msdnmag/issues/02/06/debug/default.aspx
     
  18. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
  19. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Disckeeper works? Which version, 6 or 7? Pardon for asking Lynch,
    but doesn't xp pro show the security tab in file properties under normal boot? I'm on xp home so wouldn't know this....

    GF
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
  20. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I have no clue what you are speaking of.

    Any disckeeper works. I tried all trials of defragmenters and they all work. I will reinstall PD6 as I may have had Process guard on. * edit - nope, no work
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Yes, I was talking about properties shown in Windows Explorer. Also I do have XP Pro SP2 and I am running as an Adminstrator
     

    Attached Files:

  22. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I only have 3 tabs (running as admin). I turned off all the SP2 stuff. Does that make a difference?
     
  23. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    In xp pro you should have a fourth tab, security in ANY file or programs properties dialog. For me on home, I can only get to security through cmd cacls with parameters or boot up in safe mode.....I think what Peter was referring to was taking ownership of the program through the sec tab. I see it in his screen shot, not yours. I'm certain sp2 has nothing to do with it. For me.....the jury's still out on sp2!

    Did you load 7 successfully or, the latest holdup?

    GF
     
  24. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    No I have not installed 7 as 6 won't even work now - and it appears, my XP pro is missing features.
     
  25. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Tools, folder options from inside any window except IE. On the view tab, scroll to the bottom and uncheck USE SIMPLE FILE SHARING (RECOMMENDED). Now click apply, ok and then try to view your 4th tab. *puppy*
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.