PE not seeing local connections

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Czerno, Jan 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Czerno

    Czerno Guest

    Hi !
    I tried P.E. on a computer with both internet (ADSL, dial-up) and a local connection. The local connection was over DCC (direct parallel).
    Surprisingly P.E. seemed to monitor and report only TCP/IP connections over the ADSL modem, none of the connections to the local peer were seen :(

    Is this regular, or would there be a way for PE to "see" TCP/IP traffic to/from the local ? Did I miss a setting ? Does the unusual fact that the hosts are connected over DCC explain why it is not seen, or is it the same problem over say, an ethernet ?

    I must say this problem refrained me from buying PE, otherwise very exciting software. Also that trial was with last by one version (1.:cool:

    Cheers

    --
    Czerno
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi there,
    not sure what happens:
    You do have a connection and do have traffic on your local connections?
    I have a small network via a router and i do see the connections, processes and sockets responsible for those.
    SSDPSRV.EXE among others.
    Look if you have all netstat sockets showing too, i see a *SYSTEM socket involved here, i see among others port 139, 445, and a few more connecting etc.
    Hope this helps a bit?
     
  3. Czerno

    Czerno Guest

    Hi, Jooske!

    Yes there was traffic and unseen/unreported in PE.

    OK, that's how I'd expect it to be. Maybe P.E. by design can't see IP connections over a parallel cable? Just a wild guess, and I hope Jason or someone DCS clarifies this.

    It did help, thank you! I can't however experiment more for now as my P.E. demo is overtime.

    Cheers

    --
    Czerno
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi LinuxPenguin, I removed your post because it was off topic and is now subject to review.

    Pilli
     
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Reviewed and will not return.

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. Czerno

    Czerno Guest

    Please ! Back to my post subject !

    After this disruption, can someone answer my original question ?

    TIA

    --
    Czerno
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Czerno,
    Yes sorry for the delay but we will have to await a DCS reply on this.

    Cheers. Pilli
     
  8. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Port Explorer should still work correctly in this situation. It doesn't matter what connection methods you are using as long as the applications you are wanting to monitor are TCP/IP based.

    What Port Explorer shows in it's list is the current snapshot of TCP/IP activity on your computer, not only listed from Port Explorer's own DLL but also from the operating system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.