PE + no more internet

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by dark2_07, Jun 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dark2_07

    dark2_07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    after i have installed PE on my other computer my NIC says that it has limited or no internet activity. so i was wondering if anyone knows why this has happened. if there is any info i can get for you to help me just let me know what you may need.

    this happened yesterday after i was tring to find a port watching program. when i came opan this program and installed it. after restarting my internet just completely stoped working. so i uninstalled the program, but that didnt resolve my issue. so i tried to roll back to a restore point which didnt help.

    OS: XP
    firewall Kerio Personal Firewall 4.1.3
    mcafee anti virus 7.0(in the process of getting a newer and better VS)

    if someone can please help me, i would be very happy individual :D
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hello dark2 and welcome, Can you please tell us what operating system you are using?

    Did you disable your security programs during the PE install & reboot?

    You may also need to run LSP fix available from here: http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm

    There are known problems with MaCfee firewall but not with their AV as far as I know. In Kerio 4 have you given PE the necessary permissions?

    More questions than answers ATM :)

    Thanks. Pilli
     
  3. dark2_07

    dark2_07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    thanks for the reply pilli i think i have given the proper access in kerio firewall, but ill check again. i was thinking about runnng the lsp fix but i couldnt remeber the name. thanks. i have used it before on a friends computer about 8 months ago, so ill give it a try. ill post back later to let you know if it worked or not.

    edit 1: my operating system(OS) is (edit 2: Windows)XP
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Lets hope LSP fix does the trick. DCS mat jump in with other ideas if that does not work :)
     
  5. dark2_07

    dark2_07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I have a HD with an image, but ill have to run all the updates on it. If the HD works and after the updates, ill just reimage my newer HD. i think this might be the easiest way. that way i know i have a clean HD and then i can try and down load PE and install it again. IF this happens agin the ill try to troubleshoot the whole thing.

    With LSP i couldnt find anything out of the ordinary. it also didnt fix anything in the files so that makes me think that it they were not wrote over by a program. :'(

    Im at work today so if anyone else has some ideas shoot them my way and ill try them before doing the reimage. Also if you would like some info i could and try give it to you from memory. o_O

    Thanks for the quick replys Pilli and for the ideas about using LSP. I also doubled checked my firewall and i had given it all the permissions for it. :cool:

    PS just thought i could use Highjack this and post the results if you think this might help.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    We no longer process HJT logs here but you could try the cleaning methods described here:https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=50662

    Anyway good luck. Pilli
     
  7. dark2_07

    dark2_07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5

    That cool, i might just run it anyways and see if i can understand it. have never worked with HJT before, but since im an IT person maybe i can make sense of it.

    i have been keeping up with ad-aware, spotbot S&D, firewall, and AV updates, but ill try stinger and another spyware/malware removal tool and see if i have any infections.

    and once again thanks for all the help.
     
  8. dark2_07

    dark2_07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    thanks for all the help and after i reimaged my PC everything worked. so i have no clue as to what happened. I also reinstalled port explorer and that program is awsome. going to buy after i get paid this month.
    Also if anyone reads this can you give some insight too why my MS file and print sharing is trying to connect to a latin america address(made a rule and denied on my firewall). 200.88.136.236 is the ip address.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.