PCLOS Gnome 2.21.2 in a VM (how to)

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by innerpeace, Jan 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. innerpeace

innerpeace Registered Member

I'm wanting to install this in a VM so I can learn more about linux. I'm wanting to keep the changes I make, so I guess a VM can do this. I'm running XP home with 896MB of RAM. My 100GB internal HDD has a 40GB C: partition, a 20GB D: data partition and 40GB that's unallocated. I already have the .ISO stored in my D: partition and a live cd burnt. I like PCLOS so far (2 nights) and everything seems to be working from the live cd.

I am new to VM's and Linux. What is the best way to approach setting up PCLOS in a VM with my current configuration? Which free VM software would be best for me (newbie)? I had a look at Mrk's site and he suggests VMware player.

Please point me in the right direction. I'm willing to learn and hope to one day use XP in a VM on Linux :).

innerpeace

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

3. clansman77

clansman77 Registered Member

you can either use vmware or virtualbox.i personally think virtualbox is best..

4. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hi,

Actually, the Player advice was before Server was even in beta - and it has advanced significantly since. In the installation tutorials, I mention the Server as well. Server is a very good choice too.

To setup the VMware Player / Server properly, you should be able to configure your firewall on the host machine to allow these guest operating systems.

Finally, I advice you to install for yourself - not use the pre-built image. This way, you'll learn how to install and configure for yourself.

Mrk

5. innerpeace

Thanks everyone for your help. I've downloaded VMware player and I'm running PCLOS with the LiveCD player. I'm not sure if my changes will be saved when I'm finished or not. I'm also not sure that I like using the LiveCD player, however it does save me from rebooting.