PC will not shutdown

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Kaz, Aug 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kaz

    Kaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Hi sorry if this has been asked before but could not find anything. I have just downloaded and installed Spywear guard and last night my PC would not shut down I dept geting an error message Spywear guard will not quit. I had to actually power off to shut down. anyone encouter this if so how can I fix it? Spy Guard has also detected Rapidblaster C/program files/syslog/syslog.exe can I safely delted this.
    Kaz
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey Kaz

    Could you provide us with some details? Windows & SpywareGuard Versions?

    And I cannot comment about whether it’s appropriate to take action on SpywareGuard findings, I don’t use the product so I can’t actually say if this Software is accurate or not.
     
  3. Kaz

    Kaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry here is some info on my system Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.2222 A
    Upgrade using /SrcDir=E:\WIN98 /IQ /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    IE 5 6.0.2800.1106
    Uptime: 0:02:36:49
    GenuineIntel x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 3 Intel MMX(TM) Technology
    192MB RAM
    Spyguard version 2.1
    Kaz
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Do you have all Win98 Windows Updates?
     
  5. Kaz

    Kaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Yes I have all the Updates. But the last 2 days I have not had a problem with it shutting down again. it must have just been a glitch that has f0xed itself up.
    Thanks everyone trying to help.
    Kaz
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,013
    Well I'm glad the problem seems to have fixed itself (although I can't reproduce it in testing).

    And in regard to this...

    Deleting would be the right choice - RapidBlaster is a tricky beast. (There shouldn't be any false positives in SpywareGuard's detection - and that's a known RapidBlaster location in any case. :))

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.