PC will not cold POST

Discussion in 'hardware' started by HuntTheShunt, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HuntTheShunt

    HuntTheShunt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Hi,
    The PC will post if it has been powered on for a time by pressing the reset button.

    What is the fault when a PC POST from cold?
    I have test swapped the power supply.
    Removed and replaced the 2 ram chips individually in different order an just as single units.
    CMOS voltage is within tolerance at 2.75 volts and has been swapped out for another with a similar voltage 2.8v.
    No post beeps are heard when PC refuses to boot.
    Any ideas people?
    Thanks.

    Motherboard ASRock K7VM2
    2*DDR Dimm
    Athlon Duron 2400+
    Socket A(462)
    OS XP SP3 (but not really relevant to this problem)
     
  2. rrrh1

    rrrh1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Any capacitors on the motherboard swelled or leaking ?
    The top or bottom bulges out an stuff runs out.
    If so it's new motherboard time...

    rrrh1 (arch1)
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    I used to occasionally have that problem with an old socket A machine a few years ago. Worked fine with a 2600+. Upgraded to a 3000+ and it started doing that. Was able to mostly eliminate it by overvolting the CPU. If you do, do so at your own risk. Though it was a very small about that I used, something like .025 extra volts. No overclock.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    agreed usually this ends up being bad caps on the board.
     
  5. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    There's good video and graphics reference material showing examples of, and how to detect, bad caps on the badcaps.net website.

    About 4 years years ago I had an Asus board that went kaput from a bad cap; same symptom, it just suddenly wouldn't boot. It took careful examination with a magnifying glass to find the problem cap, which was just slightly bulging and slightly tilted. Without the badcaps website I almost certainly would not have identified the problem as quickly.
     
  6. HuntTheShunt

    HuntTheShunt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Thanks all.

    Cannot see any bad caps; I have repaired a monitor that had bad caps so I understand what you people are saying.

    Time to dump this PC I think.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.