PC will not cold POST

Discussion in 'hardware' started by HuntTheShunt, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HuntTheShunt

    HuntTheShunt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Hi,
    The PC will post if it has been powered on for a time by pressing the reset button.

    What is the fault when a PC POST from cold?
    I have test swapped the power supply.
    Removed and replaced the 2 ram chips individually in different order an just as single units.
    CMOS voltage is within tolerance at 2.75 volts and has been swapped out for another with a similar voltage 2.8v.
    No post beeps are heard when PC refuses to boot.
    Any ideas people?
    Thanks.

    Motherboard ASRock K7VM2
    2*DDR Dimm
    Athlon Duron 2400+
    Socket A(462)
    OS XP SP3 (but not really relevant to this problem)
     
  2. rrrh1

    rrrh1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    208
    Any capacitors on the motherboard swelled or leaking ?
    The top or bottom bulges out an stuff runs out.
    If so it's new motherboard time...

    rrrh1 (arch1)
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,280
    Location:
    USA
    I used to occasionally have that problem with an old socket A machine a few years ago. Worked fine with a 2600+. Upgraded to a 3000+ and it started doing that. Was able to mostly eliminate it by overvolting the CPU. If you do, do so at your own risk. Though it was a very small about that I used, something like .025 extra volts. No overclock.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    agreed usually this ends up being bad caps on the board.
     
  5. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    There's good video and graphics reference material showing examples of, and how to detect, bad caps on the badcaps.net website.

    About 4 years years ago I had an Asus board that went kaput from a bad cap; same symptom, it just suddenly wouldn't boot. It took careful examination with a magnifying glass to find the problem cap, which was just slightly bulging and slightly tilted. Without the badcaps website I almost certainly would not have identified the problem as quickly.
     
  6. HuntTheShunt

    HuntTheShunt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    England
    Thanks all.

    Cannot see any bad caps; I have repaired a monitor that had bad caps so I understand what you people are saying.

    Time to dump this PC I think.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.