PC Welt ESET Smart Security 5.0 Test by AV-Test

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by King Grub, Jun 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  2. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    It means that ESET 5 has great improvements.
     
  3. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Solid performance for a beta!
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,074
    I don't know german but a review where the AV is not compared with any other... I don't know if the results are impresive or poor
     
  5. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    This time, I hope ESET will fulfill its supporters' Great Expectations...;)
     
  6. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    LOL:D You are good to use this word "supporter" instead of FanBoy.FanBoy is something like crazy their favorite all the way.Do you think am I a FanBoy?
     
  7. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I need charts D00d :)
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Now the ESET fanatics are satisfied. No bashing yet, except for maybe one.
     
  11. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    It should be the same engine as version 4. The HIPS and cloud in the Beta are not functional.
     
  12. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    I am not a fanatic and certainly not married to the Eset product. I would just like to understand why Eset has a history of performing poorly with AV-Test.
     
  13. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
  14. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Correction, there is still bashing even though the product did well. Expected better, but nevermind.
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I was referring to the ESET Supporters -In General-.
    I don't like Fanatics, Fan/Funny-Boys etc.
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Not sure what you mean but for me and probably everyone else both features are fully functional. For instance, using cloud scan times can be reduced by 40% and more to say the least. Needless to say that cloud has already contributed to better detection and minimizing FPs.
     
  17. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks.
    I'll have to try it.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    I can second that. Working fine here. :thumb:
     
  19. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    I just tried it again. I guess we'll have to disagree about what 'fully functional' means.
     
  20. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    HIPS is in automatic mode indeed unnoticable, but remember what Marcos said, it is heavily subject to evolution overtime. This is just ESET first release of the HIPS in this way, and if you switch to interactive mode you will see the mechanism really works. They just have to add more rules and improve whitelisting, achieved through revolution.

    How can you say the cloud is not functional? It is impossible to tell, since it is just working in the backend and no messages about cloud functionality is provided in anyway. The only thing you can "do" is check your processes in the cloud.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 9, 2011
  21. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Do you see scans accessing the cloud as with Hitman Pro? Do you see rules created by Eset in the HIPS? I don't. How is this "fully functional"?
     
  22. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    The "cloud" by ESET that you mentioned is not for scanning.It is like a "sidekick" feature for ESET.It helps to improve the detection and minimizes the FPs.Moreover,decreases scanning time.Why?Because if the "Cloud" ready to CHECKS and shows your running processes are safe,why does ESET need to scan it again?That's why it can decrease the scanning time by 40%.Sorry if I have grammar errors here.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  23. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    This is just a new feature from ESET.Just give ESET some times..They are working out now.Did you change the automatic mode to interactive mode?
     
  24. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    I doubt using the cloud to verify my 14 running processes will significantly impact my scan times.
     
  25. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Using automatic mode with rules. I have no problem giving Eset time. Just don't tell me it's "fully functional", because it's not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.