PC Tools Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by noway, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    http://www.pctools.com/firewall/

    Released today and apparently free but not really supported, although they have a community-based forum you can ask others questions. Not familiar with the company but they also make Spyware Doctor, etc.
     
  2. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    even i saw it now and wanna ask what d hell is this...pc tools in the last 10-12 days have launched free AV/AS and now a firewall..
     
  3. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Free anti-spyware from PC Tools? Link please? All i see is Spyware Doctor and they don't remove without having the paid version.
     
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
  5. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Stem, click overview tab then bottom of page.
    Would you mind testing this firewall and tell your opinion of it? thanks
     
  6. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    I installed it a little while ago on a test box. Here are some screen captures.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    These are the default "out of the box" settings.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  8. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    application filtering
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  9. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    a picture of the pop-up...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Can you do a leak test on this firewall?
     
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Umm on the application pic I saw a register button. I thought this was a FREE firewall. Why would it have a register button? Or is this one of those register key things and it is free? I'm confusedo_O o_O o_O
     
  12. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    I'm certainly no expert on testing of firewalls and freely admit as much so I'm sure someone else can elaborate on this more but in regards to my test I performed two leaktests and these are the results.

    The first test was done by downloading Leaktest to my desktop and renaming to "Opera.exe". When I ran it I got a pop-up asking if I wanted to allow or deny access. I selected deny and it was stopped.

    For the second test I renamed the original "Opera.exe" in the /Program Files/Opera folder and then put the Leaktest which had been renamed to "Opera.exe in that folder and it was passed without asking.

    So my point is this; it would appear that if a malicious program wanted to hijack an existing and trusted file it would have to be in the original directory where the "trusted" file lived. This may very well be what a malicous program does, I don't know. I know I have read many times about where "file such and such should be, and if not it may be a malicious program, etc. etc.". So my thinking, right or wrong, is that in my first test, if it had been a malicious file it would not have gotten access because I would have noticed it was in a different location than the real Opera.exe file.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
  13. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program

    Registration is optional. Here is what is said on their web site about it.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    The tray icon is animated to show activity. It changes from the one on the left to the one on the right and shows vertical bar activity.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    from the "logs" screen
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    and "settings" screen
     

    Attached Files:

  17. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Judging by Spyware Doctor I'm a bit fishy about this
     
  18. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    I've never used it or any of their products prior to today so I don't know if they're any good or not.

    By the way, I updated my reply to you about the leaktest with a little more info.
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    do not ask me why, but the application filtering, packet filtering, logs, and simple pop-up all remind me of LooknStop.

    just a coincidence or im imagining things maybe.
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
  21. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  22. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    I agree that it most definitely looks like a rebranded LnS. That in itself is not a bad thing, considering the popularity of LnS and the fact that this is free.
     
  23. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i hope it is not tough to use like jetico and co....
     
  24. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Hipgnosis.
    Nice to see you ran that leaktest correctly. From your result, it does show that an application is only checked by location, and not by checksum/hash. It can be a problem, as you mention, if that application is compromised or replaced.

    I also noted, from the short time I had this firewall installed, that the default rules are very open, and that, even though a direction can be placed within a rule, that inbound needs to be set/allowed, or reply`s from outbound connections are blocked.
     
  25. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    Hello again Stem, and thanks. :)

    Yes I agree, the default rules are very open; they mirror the default LnS rules I believe.

    In regards to the inbound rules needing to be set to allowed to receive a reply from the outbound connection...wouldn't that be the case with other firewalls also? I mean, if you send out a request/packet wouldn't you expect a reply and therefore need to have that inbound connection allowed?

    Like I said before, I'm certainly no firewall expert so I'm just trying to understand and learn here. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.