PC Tools Firewall V5 and AV Web Scanner

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Ed_H, Dec 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Does the new PC Tools FW beta properly handle AV's that use web scanner proxies? From what I can gather from their forum V4 did not.
     
  2. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    I really doubt you'll find any FW which can solve that problem, use "in the house FW", not 3rd party one, or change your AV to one which don't use local proxy or disable scanning on certain or all ports...
     
  3. fried_oyz

    fried_oyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I'm using v5 with NOD32 v4 Beta (web-scanner on), and the firewall does alert the user of internet connections accordingly.
     
  4. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks...I'll give it a try.
     
  5. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I know OA has this issue covered but it did not like my setup. I think Comodo does too.
     
  6. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    Im not sure, I think you add only connection to 127.0.0.1 and in some cases DNS (53), every port monitored by "local proxy owner" (e.g. 25, 80, 110, 465, 995, 8080...) is already created in FW.... check your rules
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    From their website it looks like Version 5 has gone GOLD...:eek: :)
     
  8. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks for the info.

    It looks like you can tell PC Tools FW that the webguard application is a local proxy and set it to prompt for permission to let an outbound connection occur.
     
  9. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks...I just installed the latest V5. :thumb:
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I might just give it a try based on all the positive feedback I have seen. The firewall engine seems based on Look N Stop but the extra features make it a bit tantalizing...:eek: :D :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.