PC doesn't boot anymore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pheoplanet, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pheoplanet

    Pheoplanet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hello,

    Yesterday I formatted a partition of 10 GB. This partition was among to this Backup program.

    Now, if I want to boot my notebook a error message is shown on my display:

    In German: Datenträger entfernen: Neustarten
    In English: Reboot and select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected boot device and press a key

    I guess that there is a connection with this formatted partition.
    And my OS doesn't start.

    The recovery CD didn't help me. The error message is still there.

    Hope to get some help. I'm so desperate.
    And I'm sorry for my bad english :(
     
  2. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    This message suggests the BIOS is looking for your boot disk in the wrong place. Look there first (BIOS settings, Boot Sequence).
     
  3. Pheoplanet

    Pheoplanet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I tried that allready, but without success.
    As long as I try to boot form my HD I get the message:
    [Translated from German into English]
    "Remove Volume/Medium
    Restart: Hit a key."
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Where did you create the partition? Or do you mean you restored a partition?
    Is it on the booting hard drive, another internal drive, an external drive, etc.?

    If you created a partition using TI, was it a Secure Zone partition? If so, did you activate the Acronis System Recovery Manager?

    Or did you format the Secure Zone partition that already existed?

    What OS are you using?
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    what type of operating system are you using windows xp or vista?
    If it's xp, I would be checking the drive letters and make sure that they didn't get changed around when you did the reformat.
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What brand laptop?

    Does it have an XP restore CD or is it on a hidden partition?


    Colin
     
  7. Pheoplanet

    Pheoplanet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you all for your help.

    I will send my notebook to an expert.

    If I get further informations, I will write here.
    I'm really down.

    Really, thank you so much.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Pheoplanet,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that the described problem may happen if you manually (i.e., not using Acronis True Image) delete Acronis Secure Zone with Acronis Startup Recovery Manager activated. The reason for that is activating Acronis Startup Recovery Manager changes the Master Boot Record (MBR) of the hard disk drive, which is essential for the system boot. If that's the case, you need to repair your system's MBR by using Windows tools (as described in this Microsoft KB article) or Acronis tools (as described in Acronis Help Post).

    If the issue persists, please submit a request for technical support. Attach all information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.