PC-cillin Getting New Name

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JimIT, Aug 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    PC-cillin is changing it's name with the new release to

    Trend Micro Internet Security 11

    If so, then an era has passed--PC-cillin was one of the oldest brands out there--(along with F-Prot, Norton, etc.)

    I kind of liked PC-cillin better. ;)

    A beta version is available for testing at:

    http://www.trendmicro.com/en/support/beta/tis/overview.htm
     
  2. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Lots of features, only the old kitchen sink is lacking :D

    I can see the reason for adding Internet security to the name, but the problem is that noone outside the professional world (where they are one of the market leaders) knows the name Trend Micro...
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I am sorry to say I just download TM's Internet Security. I did not like it at all. There was no improvement at all as far as the interface is concerned. Still boring and rectangular. There is no options during install. The firewall is required to be installed. I did not much care for the antivirus either. There are very few options in antivirus configuration, as I'm sure we have all come to expect from Trend Micro by now. I understand this is beta. However I though Trend Micro would be improving their product enough so to justify the 220% filesize increase. It is now up to 23.5 megs. They have not do so. You would be better off trying Norton 2004 then wasting your time and bandwidth downloading this.

    I'm not a norton fan either...I use NOD v2
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    For people who likes this kind of packages TMIS 11 can't get any better. ;)



    tECHNODROME
     
  5. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    TIS11 uses 71 MB of memory , WOW :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
    I got the 1st read without using an AV or a FW
    (nothing loaded at the task bar).
    the 2nd using TIS alone (AV, fw, AS all enabled)..

    N.B.: -

    - I got these readings using FreeMeter 2.7.6 .
    - I have a 300 MHz Celeron with 128 MB RAM running Win98se.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Hmm.

    My readings on a test w2k box show 25.360 mgs used, with 6 processes running.

    In the VM readings: 15.702. 6 processes.

    :doubt:
     
  7. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Mine shows 6 processes as well:

    - pccguide.exe
    - PCCIOMON.exe
    - PCClient.exe
    - PccPfw
    - TM Outbreak Agent
    - tmproxy

    what are all of these ? o_O :eek:
     
  8. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    1. Not sure
    2. Internet mail scanner (?)
    3. Real-time monitor
    4. Firewall component
    5. Instant notification from Trend about new viruses.
    6. Not sure

    Not too helpful, probably...LOL! ;)
     
  9. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    PCCIOMON.exe exists in both "Services" and "HKLM/RUN" !
    Anyone knows why ? o_O
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    While I don't know this product, the typical reason why some programs are executed both from services startup and the run keys is to: 1. run early in system startup, prior to user login on NT based systems. (Services start prior to the shell coming up); 2. run under or within the shell, or perhaps within the context of the current user, if it needs to setup something in these environments to make sure they have all the access or hooks needed to do their job.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.