Password required for scheduled backup??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SullyUK, Aug 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SullyUK

    SullyUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I have just upgraded from version 7.0 to TI Home 2009. Why do I now need a password to run a scheduled backup task? (It was not necessary in TI 7.0)

    I don't particularly want to have to enter a password each time I login to Windows, but it seems I will now be forced to enable password protection if I wish to make use of TI task scheduling.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If I recall correctly this change happened around v9 of TI.

    First ensure that your use name is a member of the Administrators group.

    You can enable password security in Windows and then alter that to auto logon, so you won't have to enter a password to get into Windows,
     
  3. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    You don't, at least in Versions 8, 9, and 11, all of which I have run or am running with scheduled tasks in Win98, XP, and Vista. Just leave the password fields in the job setup fields blank and continue on.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SullyUK,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    The program requires Windows authorization for a scheduled task execution. That is why you should enter your account name and password both to let Acronis True Image Home 2009 log in Windows with Administrator's rights and execute a scheduled task. The user name should be specified in the form of SERVER\USER or DOMAIN\USER.

    The Windows user account you use to log in to your system should have administrator rights to run Acronis True Image tasks.

    If you want to run the scheduled task under a user account with no administrator rights, you should make the account a member of the Backup Operators group:

    • Log in under an account with administrator rights;
    • Click Start -> Run and type lusrmgr.msc;
    • On the Local Users and Groups window click Users;
    • Right-click the user you want to add to Backup Operators and choose Properties;
    • On the User Properties window click Add;
    • On the Select Groups window type in Backup Operators and click OK.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.