password protected webcam

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by hossie, Mar 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hossie

    hossie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    88
    Hi Guys

    Need one help, situation is,

    I have to install a webcam on a system which is used by multiple users , but I need to put a system in place that only one user can use it and nobody else. None of the user's have admin right not even the one who ll be using it. I ll install with Admin access but after that how I can configure it for only one user. I cannot use any third party software for this , I ll have to use something from Windows itself.

    Is there any way where I can restrict other users to use it.

    :doubt: :doubt: :doubt: :doubt:
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Interesting question. I'll be standing by also to wait on informed comments. Not like mine. lol
     
  3. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh wait no 3rd party software.

    Hmmm...

    I think you can use Device Manager to disable the webcam. And if they are non-admins they will be unable to change the setting :)
     
  4. hossie

    hossie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    88
    the person who will be using the webcam is also does not have admin priviledges. Is there a way , where I can create two hardware profiles where webcam enabled in one and not enabled in other and give the password to it.
     
  5. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    No idea. You'll have to experiment.
     
  6. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    This is interesting to say the least.
    Wouldn't User Acct. Control work for this?
    Each of the people you have using the pc would have to sign in and are only allowed to use what's permitted?
    I'm guessing. I don't know how to set it up.
    Good luck.
    Hugger
     
  7. hossie

    hossie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    88
    There is a service in Windows which is WIA for Image accquisition. I have planned to write a script which will enable and disable the service with the system boot and shut down. I think it should solve the purpose.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.