password for Firewall

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by associates, Dec 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. associates

associates Registered Member

Hi,

I am a newbie here and have got the Smart Security trial version up and running. I am in the middle of getting a feel of how it works before making a decision to buy. I have a question regarding the firewall. Because I set it to Interactive mode at the moment, my question is whether or not, there is a way of stopping it from prompting for password everytime I need to allow a particular trusted traffic. I mean it is a good thing to have to enter the password but it would be pretty annoying if it does it all the time.

Another questions is I wonder where I could adjust the speed for the AV scanner or ondemand scanner so that it does not affect the performance of a computer while it's scanning files.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

If you password protected the ESS configuration to prevent unauthorized users from making changes, you'll need to enter the password every time a prompt window with action selection appears.

There's a setting "Run background scans with low priority" in the "Other" section of the on-demand scanner setup.
    It also depends on what type of the processor you use. If you use a double or quadruple core CPU, basically you should not notice any performance hit at all. On my double core CPU, I run one scan at a time when I have another performance-intensive application running and two scans when performance does not matter.

3. Woodgiant

Woodgiant Guest

Hey associates.