Partial image taking

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by abuyasen, Oct 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abuyasen

    abuyasen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, it is possible to take a partial image of driveC that contain the windows xp all together with porgrams installed?so we can resize drive C with more GB and the same image taken !
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I'm not clear as what you want to do.

    Do you wish to migrate your present operating system as well as all your installed programs to a larger hard drive? If that is what you wish to do then you should use Acronis True Image Home to clone your present C: drive to a larger drive, choosing to expand the existing partition to fill the new drive.

    You say "Resize drive C: " Do you wish to resize the C: partition on your drive without deleting other existing partitions? If that is what you want to do than you should use Acronis Disk Director Suite Build 10 to resize the existing C: partition on your drive. Or else you could create an image of the C: partition and then restore that same C: partition, choosing to resize the partition.

    Or maybe what you wish to do is something else again. Please try to give more details on what you want to do.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2006
  3. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    It depends how you intend to resize drive C.

    If you have a partiton resizing program such as, Partition Magic, Disk Director or others then you can resize the partition without having to create an image in the first place.

    If, to resize, you need to wipe the disk, then you will need to create a separate image of each partition, create the partitons to your choosing and then restore the images.
     
  4. abuyasen

    abuyasen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks alot for your replays,what i wanted to say is : Instead of taking an image of the whole drive(which will take alot of MB) can i take it only of the system and prgs. installed and disregarding the free space?So we could use it to another/or the same drive but with different size(more or less MB). Thanks alot again.
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    "and disregarding the free space?"

    One of the nice things about TI is that it does not backup free/unused space (unless the file system is not recognized).
     
  6. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Taking account of TheWeaz's response, yes you can restore an Acronis Image to the same drive or to another drive of larger capacity. In the latter case you will be given the option of increasing the partition size to fill the larger capacity drive.
     
  7. abuyasen

    abuyasen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks alot guys for your help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.