Paragon System Backup 2010

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by AKAJohnDoe, Mar 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Is there a maintenance release planned, or better yet, in process, for Paragon Systems Backup 2010?

    The reason I ask is for resolutions to these outstanding issues:
    • schedule_launch.exe not found (I wrote little null stub programs for this and for scripts.exe to mask this error)
    • Multiple folders created in the root of C:
      • archdb
      • BM2005
      • etc
      • psr
      • psr_inst
    • When I start the overall program rather than the backup wizard it always wants to create an automatic "first" backup
    • The Windows/Microsoft Update History is not restored. Is it considered a system file along with the pagefile and hibernation file? I don't feel it should be.

    I was running Paragon Drive Backup 8.51, then upgraded (via the GAOTD) to V9, then bought Paragon System Backup 2010. I bought PSB 2010 primarily to have the upgrade/maintenance capability.

    Other than these relatively minor issues, I am pleased with the products. PSB 2010 does run faster than the predecessors. And I replaced the 120GB drive in my notebook with a 320GB drive restoring the PSB backup to the new drive to do so, then using Windows 7 to combine the additional space into the partition.


    So, I guess my question is whether there is a maintenance release forthcoming to relocate those directories from the root to a more appropriate location?
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    From another post:

     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I have read that post, and tried the suggestion proposed; however, it has no effect on my Windows 7 PC, the five directories previously named continue to be created in the root of the C: drive.
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    These folders should really be located either under the Paragon folder structures under the \ProgramData\ folder or under the Paragon folder structures under the \Users\username\AppData\ folders, either under the \Local\ or \Roaming\ sub-folder.
     
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1

    If so, when? If not, why not?
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    A official reply would be most appreciated.
     
  7. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    The folders you listed don't all apply to System Backup 2010.

    BM2005 is a bootmanager. If you had installed BM in the past from another Paragon product, you can uninstall it using the same wizard and then safely delete the directory.

    The remaining folders look like they came from creating a backup capsule, which are all necessary. If you no longer use the backup capsule, you can safely delete them.

    The only one that does apply is the "archdb" directory. If you have other Paragon Backup programs installed, you also want to check their layout.ini and change those too.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Interesting.

    I only have Paragon System Backup 2010 installed and these directories all appear every time I start it up, even after I manually delete them. I have been unable to relocate the archdb folder.

    I am in process at this time uninstalling Paragon System Backup 2010, after which I will manually remove all Paragon entries from the file system and from the registry, rebooting of course as neccessary.

    Then I will reinstall Paragon System Backup 2010 and post back with the results. From what you are telling me there may be some reside from the previously uninstalled Paragon products remaining.
     
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    OK. I have everthing completely uninstalled. Or so I would expect. However, upon boot a prompt still comes up to provide an option to press F6 to start the Paragon on-disk recovery environment. This was not present prior to installation of Paragon System Backup 2010.

    I have not yet reinstalled Paragon System Backup 2010 as it does not seem that it was completely uninstalled.
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    After uninstalling, manually deleting files and folders, manually deleting registry entries, rebooting, I reinstalled Paragon System Backup 2010.

    The five folders previously mentioned were recreated in the root of the C:\ drive.
     
  11. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    First lets disable the backup capsule and remove the F6 recovery environment. To do that, go to Start > Programs > Paragon System Backup 2010 > Advanced > Manage Backup Capsule Wizard, disable and uninstall the backup capsule.

    Second open layout.ini located in your System Backup 2010 folder with notepad:

    Change this section to:

    Archive directory name = "archdb.ptl"
    Archive directory location = "C:\[YourDirectories]\archdb"
    Archive directory disabled = off

    File, Save.
     
  12. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    There is no existing backup capsule partition.

    Should I create one, then remove it?
     
  13. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Yes, if you create a new backup capsule and remove it, it will rewrite back the generic MBR. Alternatively, you can update the MBR if you have another Paragon product installed. Just go to Hard Disk > Update MBR.
     
  14. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Nope, after all that I still have the F6 message.

    I made the layout.ini change and am now restarting to get a clean point to see the result.
     
  15. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
  16. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Is that MBR editor going to work on Windows 7? It was last updated in early 2008.

    Also, those 5 folders in the root of C:\ are created at each boot. I uninstalled Paragon and then deleted the Paragon folders from C:\Program Files\ and C:\ProgramData\ and they were not recreated on subsequent boots. Fairly conclusive to me that the Paragon software is creating them.

    BTW, thanks for working with me on this.
     
  17. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I reinstalled Paragon System Backup 2010 and those five folders reappeared in the root of the C:\ drive, even with the layout.ini tweak.
     
  18. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I also rebuilt to MBR via the Windows 7 DVD and the "F6 for Paragon" prompt persists.
     
  19. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I was able to eliminate the creation of those 5 folders/directories by disabling the startup (HKLM:Run) of C:\Program Files\Paragon Software\System Backup 2010\Program\dbhagent.exe.
     
  20. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    The F6 persists, or reappears?

    If you rewrite the disk code, e.g. from the dvd command prompt:

    bootsect /nt60 all /mbr

    It won't be there at next startup.
     
  21. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    That is precisely what I did, and it was not there for one boot, but returned on the second boot. Which I will admit is kind of weird. I think I'll boot the Windows 7 DVD one more time.
     
  22. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I did reboot from the Windows 7 DVD and re-rebuilt the MBR and it appears to be persisting this time (that is, the F6 prompt is staying gone). In reading back over my entries here it looks like I probably reinstalled PSB2010 after rebuilding the MBR, effectively putting the F6 prompt back in place. In other words, a dooey (DUE=Dumb User Error).

    Since disabling the startup entry for PSB2010 it seems that those five folders in the root of the C:\ drive are not being recreated. As I usually use the Backup Wizard (shortcut is under the advanced folder) to manually take backups, and I have proven to my satisfaction that I can restore from these backups by booting from a CD and selecting the backup, this fits my needs at this time.
     
  23. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    Thanks for the update.

    Glad to hear you got it sorted out.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.