Paragon Recovery CD doesn't work

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Karen76, Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karen76

    Karen76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    I installed Paragon Drive Backup 2010 Special Edition on a new PC with Windows 7 64-bit. The good news is Paragon creates and restores backup images just fine when using the program's wizards within Windows. The problem is when I attempt restorations using the standard Paragon Recovery CD created by the program.

    After rebooting with the Recovery CD in place, it recognizes my wireless keyboard (unlike True Image Home 2010 which requires me to use a wired keyboard and mouse). When I click "Normal Mode," the countdown window is replaced with one saying "Main Recovery Environment." However, nothing happens from this point. When I reboot again and select "Safe Mode," the screen goes black except for a small flashing line in the upper left corner. In case I had a faulty CD, I created a second one which gives the same results. Does anyone at Paragon Support have a recommendation to correct this problem?
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello Karen76,

    Check your private message. I will send you some updates and information.
     
  3. jdsnov73

    jdsnov73 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Hello. I am having a similar issue, but with the USB recovery media. It will boot to the Boot Manager screen. I select Normal Mode, it acts like it is loading, gets to near full bar across the bottom of the screen, and then the screen goes blank and does nothing.

    I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. I am using Paragon Backup & Recovery 2010 Compact Edition.

    Thanks for any help you could provide.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
  4. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    paragon tommy,
    same problems, boot with disk, get screwy text on screen, can't get to anything that works.

    I have created the FREE backup disk recovery media, BUT I have also purchased the HDM suite 2009 today.

    See my ohter thread of today 1/17/10, re: having FREE bootable media to recover anything created with FREE, but since the suite bootable (which I bought now) is ver. 2009, will it recover the 2010 FREE backups?

    I am off to my basement to burn the SUITE version, after downloading

    nick
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Yes.:)
     
  6. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    thanks for reply.
    got the WinPE recovery media burnt, and booted with it, FANTASTIC, looks great.
    SO, to confirm, this 2009 version wil recover the 2010 free bckups?

    I am going to burn full backup of my tablet PC, main system, encrypted, and give it bigger test

    thansk
    NIck
     
  7. Paragon_MattK

    Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Posts:
    176
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Yes, it will be able to restore the 2010 free backup images, the format for the backup files is the same.
     
  8. Acronuser23

    Acronuser23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    This is a relatively new laptop but with some customizations and installations I made.

    I made a full image of the entire (all partitions) pre-installed W 7 HD to an external USB HD using Paragon's Backup & Restore 10 Free.

    Now, I am in a similar bad position. I used Paragon to shrink my C: drive to create some unused space for a separate data partition (not yet created). When I rebooted Windows was stuck on testing my D: restore partition and then stopped - repeatedly despite several reboots. Having no other way to access the image backup I made, I used my system Restore disks to restore to factory status. Once that is done (it is still working away), I would like to use the image backup I made with Paragon BU to restore C: to where it was at the time of the backup.

    Two questions:
    1) I assume will need to install Paragon again and then restore from the image. Correct? Will it overwrite the factory restored partition or will I need to again remove some of th junk trials they put on it?

    2) I could have avoided this if there was a way to boot up and access my external HD from the hosed laptop. I notice you mention that such a CD or DVD exists in a formal version. How do I get hold of that?

    Thank you.
     
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Yes, it will overwrite the partition with the restored image.

    Reinstall PARAGON , run off the boot disc by clicking Tools>recovery media builder in the main screen.

    Hope it helps
     
  10. Karen76

    Karen76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Paragon_Tommy graciously supplied me with an iso file with which I created an Advanced Recovery CD that appeared to work OK (at least it recognized the Seagate external drive which contained my backup images). A few days ago, I installed a Western Digital internal drive in my new PC in order to have a second storage area for backups as well as one with a much faster data transmission rate.

    I created backup images using Acronis True Image Home 2010 (which is my least favorite version of ATI to date), Windows 7's backup imaging feature, and Paragon Drive Backup and stored them on the WD drive. I successfully restored images using the ATI and Windows 7 CDs. The Paragon Advanced Recovery CD recognizes my Seagate external drive, even a Lexar USB drive, but not the new WD internal drive. This baffles me since I thought an internal SATA drive would be easier hardware to recognize than a drive connected by USB or firewire cables.

    When I couldn't use the recovery CD, I attempted to restore this image by opening Paragon Drive Backup within Windows. The image restored successfully (albeit with several desktop shortcut icons rearranged). I'm at a loss to understand why Paragon's Advanced Recovery CD doesn't recognize a SATA internal drive which Acronis and Windows 7 CDs have no trouble identifying.
     
  11. Acronuser23

    Acronuser23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    It won't let me create a rescue boot disc - because my system only permits one such recovery set. The recovery set I created outside Paragon will restore the system to factory condition.
    How do I get a Paragon recovery disc? Can I download it from somewhere?
    Jeff
     
  12. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    the "advanced recovery disk iso" that karen76 references, is this the same (or similar to ) the HDM suite 2009 disk?

    I have the paid disk version, but I want to also get a workable free version also, as my son is going to install the free version o his system, and I don't want to clone my HDM disk (unless it is the sameo_O)

    thanks
    Nick
     
  13. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Aoz

    the Advanced recovery disk you're referring is available with your copy of HDM 2009. Log into your account and download the WinPE recovery media.

    Acronuser23,

    Any of the standard recovery disk from the free or paid version will let you restore the image you backed up from awhile ago.
     
  14. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hello acronuser,

    I think you may be confusing the manufacturer recovery discs, with the Paragon boot disc.

    You can run off as many copies of Paragon boot disc as you like.

    In the main Paragon Interface, click Tools>Recovery media builder.

    Recoverydisc-2010-01-18_235308 (Small).jpg

    Hope it helps.



     
  15. Acronuser23

    Acronuser23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    You are correct. I confused the two.

    Thank you.
     
  16. testgrampy

    testgrampy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exact same problems with the recovery media hanging ( cd and usb ).. tried all modes and it just hangs the computer. has anyone come up with the solution?

    Thanks
    Ken
     
  17. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
  18. demlv

    demlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Paragon_Tommy,

    I'm facing the same issue Karen76 was/is. Love the backup software, but it is of no use without a viable restore disk.

    Using the standard linux-based restore disk, I get to the initial screeen and I can select Normal Mode, Safe Mode, etc. But no matter what I choose, I end up looking at a blinking cursor at the top left, and it never progresses past that point. This is on a new AMD based quad desktop (HP HPE-130f) running Win7 Home Premium 64bit with an external USB attached (because it holds the backup images).

    Can I give the .ISO that you provided to Karen76 a trial run to see if it solves this problem for me, too? Or is that available only with the paid version? :D

    Thanks,

    demlv
     
  19. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
  20. demlv

    demlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks SIW2 for the link to 7pecreator.

    It starts great. It copies a few files after navigating to boot.wim, but when I navigate to launcher.exe, it says "copying files, please wait a few seconds" and then never does anything else. A Parfiles folder is created, with 191 mb of files and subfolders. A Parmount folder is also created, but it remains empty. For what it's worth, I am finding launcher.exe in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Paragon Software\Backup and Recovery 10 Free Edition".

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: I initially missed the part about running 7clickonmeV3.cmd as Administrator (found it in another thread). Iso is burning right now. Will post results soon.

    demlv
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  21. demlv

    demlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    SIW2,

    Success! The PE disc boots fine and I can see all drives, including externals.

    Thank you so much for pointing me to 7PEcreator. A seriously impressive piece of work. Did you make it?

    Thanks again,

    demlv :thumb: :D :thumb: :D :thumb: :D :thumb:
     
  22. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Yes, I did make it - and I am very glad it did the job for you.

    Thanks for posting back the result.:)
     
  23. demlv

    demlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    SIW2,

    Regarding 7PEcreator, I noticed that you included options to add Paragon Partition Mgr. and Easeus Data Recovery Wizard in addition to Paragon BR10. If you ever update it to install other programs (especially quality freeware :eek:) I would really appreciate it if you would post a link here.

    Do you intend to update / maintain a live link to 7PEcreator?

    Also, if I wanted to try to build a PE disk using a Win7 64bit install disk, would it work? And if so, is there any reason I would want to have a 64bit PE disk instead of one created using a 32bit install?

    Thanks,

    demlv
     
  24. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi demlv,

    I have a lot of apps. added to my personal boot discs.

    I intend to update it when needed - usb 3 support will be released for 7 ( and I believe Vista ) in a the not too distant future. Will include it in future if possible.

    64 bit WinPe is not much use - very little will run in it due to lack of syswow. That may change , but it will be quite a while.

    If you use the 64 bit disc , none of the 3rd party apps will work. The only thing that works from there is windows automated 64 bit recovery options.

    What apps. did you have in mind to include?

    There is already a file explorer, password blanker, remote registry loader, and screen capture in there.

    If you want to add Easeus Data Recovery Wizard , they are doing the new version free at the moment - it is pretty good. You may as well d/l and install it.

    http://www.megaleecher.net/Legal_Free_License_For_Easeus_Data_Recovery_Wizard
     
  25. demlv

    demlv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hello SIW2,

    Thanks for all your help. Is there a way that I can track possible future updates to 7pecreator?

    I can think of many apps / utilities for a boot disk, including Paragon Backup & Restore (B&R), obviously. After finally building a workable recovery disk for B&R (or more properly, after smiling as I watched your 7pecreator work its magic) I began researching Win7-based boot disks, and came across the Win7rescuePE project for Winbuilder. It comes pretty close to what I want. I like that I can boot it from CD/DVD, and then run a number good portable utilities from a usb stick. But the Win7rescuePE disc would be far better if I could:

    1) add B&R, and

    2) add portable apps to disc itseft (even if they were merely available in a folder, without links in the start menu).

    I have no idea if any of this is possible. But I thought I would ask if you can provide help with this / links to instructions.

    Thanks,

    demlv
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.