Paragon not intuitive

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by sag, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    I think you´d better make the request to Paragon directly, using your account.
     
  2. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Robin A.,

    ... I will try, but .... I don't know, .... their support page says that paid users not on current support (or free product users) may have to wait anywhere from 7 to 28 days to get a response back. I am afraid that they may get back after their email sales offers end on Dec. 31 !
     
  3. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Only 3 days left on the special price offer for HDM 14 Professional and I have no response from Paragon_Matt on this Forum and no reply back with my question sent to Paragon Support.

    How can I make a decision on this offer with no response back and not knowing the answer to my above question ?

    .... Is any Paragon support person out there, checking these forums, maybe at least a few times a month ?
    .... Paragon_Matt, Mech_an, ... paragon support person, please respond either forum or email, I think my question is a simple one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  4. Paul Nutt

    Paul Nutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    My question submitted on the 19th has so far gone unanswered. Their business must be good to not need to sell another Pro version.

    Edit: I should say something helpful and mention IIRC Paragon has a 30 day return window.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  5. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Russia
    Paragon Team is geeks, not huckster. I suspect that their business is a service for some big company(s). Or maybe with some patents receive money.
    If Paragon begin dirty SEO or SMM as a thriving Acronis, I stopped buy it.
     
  6. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I started to use Paragon's products 2 years ago. At that time, SIW2 wrote here: “Re lack of Paragon staff on this forum. It used to be extremely well supported - the best anywhere.” But for some months I noticed frequent presence from Paragon_MA. I think I was told the Californian branch office was appointed to support the user forum.

    These days we have seen Paragon_Matt has frequented this meeting place for loyal customers, but he seems to ignore direct questions. I PM'ed him 9th of December and asked him to have focus on this thread. I expressed my opinion that offering the Retention Wizard to more users probably would be to the benefit of Paragon Technologie GmbH. But we are met with silence...

    The quality of HDM14 has worried me; I have been assured there will be an update within a short time. I have succeeded to install both BMB and RMB, but extensive support and manual operations was needed. I have more questions, and I have still 14 days left of my “complimentary support”.

    Of course I want software with high quality and stable operation. But it is also important to me that the vendor has an open-minded and good contact with their customers. The user forum is the right place to expose these qualities; one single notice is read by several users. Isn't that better then writing a personal note for every single user?

    I do not want to relive an Acronis issue. Heads up, Paragon!
     
  7. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    John Doe Genius,

    I guess it is possible that all of the paragon support staff, for home office users, are on a 2 week holiday vacation, for December. They might be short staffed for the holidays. I will give them the benefit of the doubt, for now, hoping they respond back by Jan. 2. .... Of course by then the sale price will be over for hdm 14 professional. So, I may have to go with another company for backup software in the near future.

    BTW, did you get network access to work with hdm 14 with the way you finally got it installed ?
     
  8. Paul Nutt

    Paul Nutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Paragon posted responses on Dec. 5th and a couple on Dec. 6th and one on Dec. 11. Nothing since.

    While frustrating, on my part this is simply some good natured ribbing via a forum. I'm still trying to decide what direction to go. I can't in good conscience buy a product (US$70 upgrade to HDM 14 Pro) that has such spotty support. Perhaps Paragon and Bitdefender have the same parent company? ;)


    fixed quote Peter 2150
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2013
  9. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I had no problems with installing HDM 14, but I struggled with BMB and needed manual operations for RMB.

    I have no problems with the network access, but my network is very simple: No NAS drive, only two desktops Win7 & WinXP with a wired connection. The backup drive is an USB device connected to Win7. This computer can access the other one through network connections, no problems when the archive is stored on the WinXP (if I wanted to do so). The WinXP computer finds the other one (and the USB drive) through mapping (either in HDM or in the file browser). No problems at all!

    What surprised me was that the WinPE image created with BMB 14 on the 64b Win7 could be successfully used on the old 32b WinXP!

    Now I am going to download the new version Robin A has informed about today … Edit: So far only for the Suite in "My Account"
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
  10. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    John Doe Genius,

    I wonder why then other user on this forum had problems with mapped network drive under HDM 14 ?

    BTW, I also have a Win XP pc. What are you going to do come April when no more security updates for win xp by MS. Upgrade it to Win 7 or Win 8.1 ? I am trying to decide.
     
  11. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    BTW, did the Oct/Nov MS update jack up your XP machine like it did for many? I have XP mode on a W7 machine, a very old XP laptop and both got jacked. Both were checking for updates forever and ever!!
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,991
    Location:
    UK
  13. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    wptski,

    Yes, it took a looooong time. I had a long lunch, while it was crawling along at 50% cpu.
     
  14. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
  15. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Update, .... Just got another sales promotion email that extends the discount price on HDM 14 Pro, until Jan. 15 !

    ... So there is still time for paragon support to get back to me now, regarding my above question, so that I can make an informed decision about whether or not to upgrade to HDM 14 or go with another vendor's product instead.

    ... I am hopeful now that I will hear back before Jan. 15, after all I have been a loyal customer that purchased multiple products and several versions of the backup product (DB 10, B&R 10, 11, 12) and Partition Manager.
    ... We shall find out ...
     
  16. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    In the past my old XP laptop which has issues, a WU was an 8 hour procedure!:eek:
     
  17. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    wptski,

    FYI, it took about 1 hour on my 4 year old win xp to do the nov/dec ms updates. Will see what happens with the Jan ms updates.
     
  18. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    Mine is so old that it came with W98!
     
  19. Sandunes

    Sandunes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    75
    The lack of Paragon support in these forums is very disappointing.
     
  20. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Okay, I just heard back from Paragon via support ticket and the official word is that .....

    The "Retention Wizard" - Add-on --- is only available for the product -- "HDM 14 Professional (*Not* the Suite Version)" and *Not* for the Paid (or free) B&R products. (P.S. The "Retention Wizard" also comes with the Enterprise Versions). (It appears that their are *no* current plans to make it available for the current versions of the other products.)

    ... So, if your interested in the "Retention Wizard" feature, you need to purchase the HDM 14 - Professional (or an Enterprise Version).

    I do find it strange that the product web page for HDM 14 - Professional does *Not* even mention the "Retention Wizard - Add-on" Feature and I only found about it from another user on this Forum.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.