Paragon HDM Pro 11 - Linux Recovery CD vs WinPE 3 Recovery CD & odd volume label Q...

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by TominKS, May 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TominKS

TominKS Registered Member

First post here - so I'll try to be concise!

I'm brand new to Paragon HDM Pro 11 - but had used Partition Magic for years - so I'm learning a new app...

So far - so good!

Question #1 - Which Recovery CD do most Paragon users recommend? The Linux or the WinPE versions of the recovery CDs?

Are there any obvious/superior advantages to each?

I've noticed the Linux one seems to boot a LOT faster (which is certainly nice!)...

What about overall "reliability" when making substantial changes (i.e. partition resizes/etc)? Any 'real' differences in "reliability" between using the Linux vs WinPE recovery CD/flash drive?

I most typically just "manually" change my active boot partitions and prefer to do so via a recovery type CD/flash drive for simplicity/safety sake.

And will also "hide" my Data or other partitions depending on what I'm doing at the same time.

Nothing too overly complex most of the time...

So just curious if the veteran users have reasons to prefer one Paragon recovery CD/flash drive OS version over another based on experience/etc (??)...

------------------------------------------------------------

Question #2 - I've noticed when I boot with the WinPE 3 recovery CD - all of my "hidden" volume/partition labels display as "Local Disk/[No label]" - instead of listing the partition names I've given them.

Whereas, if I boot with the Linux Recovery CD and/or open up the Paragon HDM Pro 11 application from within a full Windows environment (i.e. non-WinPE OS), I see ALL the various partition names/labels just fine/great.