Paragon Hard Disk Manager

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hadron, Dec 9, 2019.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    I used to use Paragon Hard Disk Manager many years ago and found it to be reliable, simple to use, and with a nice interface. But for some reason, I stopped using it. I don't see much talk about Paragon Hard Disk Manager or other Paragon products lately.

    Does anyone still use Paragon Hard Disk Manager? Is it still reliable?
     
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,470
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Hi @Hadron

    EASTER here. I also used to make good use of Paragon Hard Disk Manager and found it just as reliable.

    Checking and looking into my toolbox of disk management tools I notice I still have version 15 sitting there virtually in mothballs anymore. I believe their newest release might be up to 17 by now.

    I recall it as recently as a year ago or less of not meeting a required change I needed to convert a MBR to GPT Disk. The error was that it failed to do a smooth transition. As such and with data still valid luckily I turned to AOMEI Partition Assistant which did the task quickly and efficiently.

    Once bitten twice shy, I depend on AOEMI now for sensitive disk management chores. Not a single issue or scare from it.

    In my older systems and even on Windows 8 early on it did perform well back then and maybe even is better now. I just selected what did work correctly when faced with a pinch and was comfortable with my alternative so I no longer bother with Paragon.
     
  3. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,188
    Location:
    UK
    I used to like it as well.

    probably a munged windows install lost it and never reinstalled
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Back in the days of yore there were many fewer tools to move around partitions & manage hard drives. I used Paragon products way back then. There were even a couple operations that I personally only knew of a Paragon product would work on.

    But Paragon's GUIs were primitive, hideous & confusing. As soon as I could find other products that did the same operations I switched away from that Paragon product & never looked at it again.
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    I certainly didn't find their GUIs hideous and confusing.
    For me, it was the opposite.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    This was 20+ years ago :)
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    :argh:
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Don't laugh at the old man. :)
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    You're not old. You only think you are. I could be older than you. ;)
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    Paragon Hard Disk Manager Advanced looks to be a complete package, including backup and recovery and a partition manager.
    Does anyone know if it uses VSS for backup?
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,174
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    There's a ton of Forum entries on-line referring to VSS type errors and using the VSSADMIN command to deal with some of them so my guess would be YES.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    Are there problems? Which forum?

    I just searched the English Paragon Support Forum > System Backup for VSS and didn't find anything.
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,174
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Paragon, like Image For Windows' "PhyLock," also has its own VSS-like service called "Hot Core." It is not installed by DEFAULT (use of VSS is) and if you choose to use it, it must be installed manually. The claim is that it is as good as VSS in setting up its snapshots. I don't know how this is possible since VSS is designed to act in consort with tasks that designate themselves as "VSS Writers" so that writers may bring their output files into a consistent state (flushing file caches, etc.) prior to the snapshot being considered consistent. "Hot Core" would have to pretend to be VSS and talk to these "writers" and gain their feedback prior to freezing a snapshot... not even PhyLock can do that. Both PhyLock and Hot Core can freeze the FileSystem but there may be some inconsistent files available at that point in the process (most likely cacheable databases).

    Anyway, HERE's a Paragon Knowledge Base article concerning VSS issues.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,507
    Hi Frog.

    When I first started using IFW, I think from memory that PHYLock was the default, but I could never get it to work. It would eventually time out.
    So, I switched over to VSS and have never had any problems with it.

    I wonder why developers decide to develop their own.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.