Paragon Go Virtual 2015 (Free)

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by Adric, Aug 9, 2015.

  1. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
    "Keep your current Windows system!"
    "Create a virtual Windows clone with Paragon Go Virtual!"

    Interested in Windows 10 and want to keep Windows 7/8.1 as virtual systems? Go here.
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Can't find details of the Free version or even if download is free or trial.
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't get it, what is it supposed to do?
     
  4. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
  5. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    It's a newer version of the Paragon Virtualization Manager. It will copy existing real volumes to virtual disks for VMs. It supports Virtual Box, VMware and Virtual PC and will inject the right drivers for each VM. No blue screen driver issues so your VMs will boot. This software has worked well for me and I turned several old systems into VMs with all the software and tweaks I had for them. You still have to deal with Windows activation once you have a functioning Windows VM.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  7. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    Not in the free version. I don't know what the paid version will do, the free version did everything I needed and I didn't even look at the comparison chart. Drivers are the big issue. I spent days getting past blue screen boot driver issues before I found this program which took care of the drivers.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, I will perhaps give it a try.
     
  9. Murf72

    Murf72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I must be doing something wrong. Is there a walk through to setup your existing OS as virtual? I choose the VM vendor type and the size to required to virtualize my existing OS and extra drive is more than I have in free space.
    At first I thought I would be able to do a VM of My windows 7 in order to do the win10 upgrade on that VM to make sure all my existing programs worked smoothly.
     
  10. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    For me it has largely been trial and error. Windows 7 is challenging due to large image size and resource needs. Xp is faster and easier on a VM and you don't need to have huge amounts of memory to run an Xp VM. My first Xp VM involved stripping the original system of all manufacturer supplied drivers and running it in VGA mode before it was imaged and I still had a couple of blue screens that required booting into safe mode to disable more drivers. Then I had to get a virtual network adapter working to activate it.

    The Paragon virtualization manager got me to the point of just having to activate it. I did two more Xp Vms with it and then did a Windows 7 VM. The Windows 7 VM is slow and needs at least an i5 to run at a usable speed. The Xp Vms run fine on a low memory core 2 machine.
     
  11. ecirb

    ecirb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,
    I hope I post on the correct topic. If not please inform me and I will move my post.
    Well, I just installed the GO virtual 2015 free software on a notebook computer running on windows XP. I'm willing to create a VM to run with VirtualBox thanks to the software.
    When I launch the virtualization, I get an error popup at the top beginning of the operation :
    "Volume exclusive access is required to complete the operation."

    I tried to list the files which access the drive and close them but this does not seem to be allowed :(

    Would you have any idea of what could block me ?

    I have ton mention I tried to modify the layout.ini file as found on the internet so that GO Virtual could not use VSS, but it did not change anything.
     
Loading...