Paragon Drive Backup 9.5 Professional (Free)

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by jpcummins, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Asking for opinions!

    1) Should an average user download this software or is this software more for a business setting?

    2) Does this software allow a user to restore individual files?

    The only backup/restore program I have is Paragon Express. Thankfully, I have never had to rely on it. Unfortunately Paragon Express does not allow for individual file restores.

    Paragon has been just unbelievable in making available, for free, there outstanding products.

    John
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    1. Yes

    2.Yes

    It's v10 renamed to v9.5 for the giveaway , so it's too good to miss.
     
  3. captcha

    captcha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Could someone please “investigate” what download belongs to this registration link? Seems like a v3.co.uk giveaway...
    Thank you in advance.
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I'm using Paragon B&R 10.1 Free Edition. What additional features are available in this "Pro" version? Windows PE boot ISO?
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    No you don't the winpe boot.iso with the giveaways - you do get the excellent undelete and P2P adjust Wizard .
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2010
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Are you sure? The Free Edition is a 100 mg download while this Pro Edition is a 300 mg download. What is requiring all that extra code?
     
  7. captcha

    captcha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    It’s 300 MB because the SFX RAR archive (db95_prof.exe) contains an x86 and an x64 MSI file, a 58 MB sized file named “recovery.exe” (which will create a Linux-based recovery CD), and a manual (~6 MB).
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Can you say more about what the "excellent boot corrector" and "P2P adjust Wizard" do?
     
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi Captch,

    Not sure what that other reg link is for - I suspect it is the same thing under a different name.

    The 9.5 is version 10 - just renamed for the giveaway
     
  10. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    mY mistake - boot corrector is not in there .

    What is included is the partition Undelete function - self explanatory.

    P2P adjust is great. It makes an o/s bootable on new hardware.

    db9.5pro-2010-05-02_042115.jpg
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Great! Since I have the Free Edition currently installed should I uninstall it first or will this Pro version upgrade it? Also, are the images I've made with the Free Edition compatible?
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Yes, the images are compatible.

    It will install completely independent of your other paragon apps. - it doesn't update the free version - it installs alongside.

    You can uninstall the free one of course.
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Thanks!
     
  14. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Can someone explain the difference in checking/not checking the box "Control Archive Integrity"? Know by not checking, supposed to run faster. But with it checked, does this mean it does not require manually verifying the integrity AFTER making the image?
     
  15. jem3

    jem3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Does anyone know how to make the install program setup on a different drive from C? My C drive is very small, but I have a E drive over 100 gigs of free space. Is there a way to install on that drive? When I click on the install program, db95_prof.exe, it gives me no choices.
     
  16. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    It isn't actually going to install at that point.

    The files are extracted from the .exe .

    You will then see 2 .msi installers and a boot disc.

    When you run the .msi installer you can choose the install location.
     
  17. DogNo1

    DogNo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Could you please post a link to this software?:)
     
  18. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
  19. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    UPDATE: Ref my post #14...didn't receive any answers to the question, but in doing so hard searching, found this reply to almost the same question in an old Paragon forum and the answer is:

    That option is normally used during the restore process and no it does not mean paragon will run a check after creation of the backup but with this option checked the chances of your archive losing integrity are almost zero. I would recommend leaving this option checked.

    Also, you only need to run a archive integrity check if you modify the archive in any way.
     
  20. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I downloaded Paragon Drive Backup 9.5 Professional (Free) a few days ago. I tried to post this in that thread but it was closed.

    Today I attempted to make a backup but I received an 0x11112 (VSS Specif error) message.

    I tried the following to no avail:

    1) My Computer (right clicked)
    2) Manage
    3) Services
    4) Volume Shadow Copy Services was already active but I changed it from Manual to Automatic

    Still could not make a backup.

    Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Any assistance would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    John
     
  21. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Thanks Pat,

    Where did you find that post - do you have a link ?

    Thanks

     
  22. 2good

    2good Guest

  23. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.