Paragon B&R 12 Free has stopped working

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by benoitvm, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. benoitvm

    benoitvm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I have been happily using P B&R 12 Free for a few years now on my Dell Precision M4700 (had to choose safe boot mode however to avoid a crash).
    But since this morning, I can't no longer use it, it says "DPMI error" when I choose B&R option in the main menu.
    What has changed on my system since the last successful run, a couple of months ago ?
    3 things:
    1. Windows 7 updates (as usual) - should be transparent for B&R
    2. Increased system memory from 12 to 16 GB
    3. Added an internal Sata drive (SSD, non-OS); no change to the system drive.
    Any clue ?
     
  2. benoitvm

    benoitvm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    Any clue, anyone ?
    Can I just say goodbye to my past image backups and hope I will never need them anymore ? (unlikely, as some contain the initial factory boot disk image)
     
  3. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    I think that's a memory error. Is your system showing the increased memory? Have you entered your BIOS since increasing the memory? If not, just enter and exit.
     
  4. benoitvm

    benoitvm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    BIOS properly reflects memory increase; the system is working fine, all memory is properly recognized and has been thoroughly tested before proceeding with productivity work...
    The laptop has now 16 GB of RAM while the max capacity is 32.
     
  5. benoitvm

    benoitvm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Will B&R 14 Free read my existing B&R 12 Free image backups ?
     
  6. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    They claim that their products versions are backward compatible.

    Did you find out what your other problem was?
     
Loading...