Paragon Alignment - custom offset ???

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by petar_b, May 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petar_b

    petar_b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I would like to align my SSD to 2048. Paragon says that current alignment is ok and doesn't let me change anything.

    Samsung support told me to change it, but without Paragon's tools I need to reformat ssd.

    Are there any command line or hidden options to tell Paragon Alignment tool to listen to my wishes too o_O

    Thanks !
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Re: Paragon Alignment

    being curious; what is the advantage of changing the alignment and why is Samsung support saying it should be done?
     
  3. petar_b

    petar_b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Performance. If drive is not aligned correctly, you loose performance. Check OCZ Technology forums, there is lots of info about that.
     
  4. Paragon_MattK

    Paragon_MattK Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Posts:
    176
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    petar_b,

    Are you sure the partition is misaligned? If the Paragon Alignment Tool says they it is aligned correctly, then it most likely is. What have you done to the drive to make you or Samsung support believe it is misaligned?


    Partition alignment is critical for optimal performance, and misalignment can cause noticeable performance delays.
     
  5. petar_b

    petar_b Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Matt,

    Currently offset is some unusual number 103424 K, so in order to have faster 4K read times I was suggested to try changing align.

    Currently 4k read is 5MB/s and then benchmark (AS SSD) slows down so on next test it crashes.

    I am willing to try to increase performance by playing with alignment, but I need a tool for that that doesn't make me delete/backup/restore partition...

    So, any chances to use Paragon Alignment for that ?

    Thx for answering ...

    PS:
    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ------------- ---------------- ------- -------
    Partition 1 Primary 100 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 119 GB 101 MB

    :blink:
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I used PAT from a pe3 boot.wim to realign my o/s partitions, it worked perfectly - no need to delete/restore partitions.

    You should always have a backup at all times - not because this is dangerous, but because it is good practice to always have a backup image.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    maybe i'm a fool
    but i can find this tool in Hard Disk Manager 2010 Pro (and in Winpe cd) i mean Paragon Alignment Tool

    what's wrong?
    thanks
     
  8. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    mantra,

    Go to My Account-My Downloads (https://www.paragon-software.com/my-account/products/downloads.htm). There will be 2 new installations available in section Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2010 Pro:
    Add-on: Paragon Alignment Tool 2.0 - Windows Installation Package 32 Bit (English)
    Add-on: Paragon Alignment Tool 2.0 - Windows Installation Package 64 Bit (English)
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    how can i add them to winpe cd ?

    thanks
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    but is there a short tutorial how use the Paragon Alignment Tool?
    a video on youtube , a short page
     
  11. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    The Alignment tool is very straight forward to use. In the GUI version that comes with Partition Manager 11, your partitions will be display with the legends indicating if you need to align or not.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    thanks it's included

    thanks!
    for Hard Disk Manager 2010 Pro is an add-on ?
    29$ ?

    or is included ?
    i have Disk Manager 2010 Pro and the winpe last built
     
  13. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    It should be in your account already - you don't need to buy it separately.


     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    again how can i integrate it

    thanks
    i would like to receive the Paragon_Tommy 's answer
    because i don't know how integrate it in the winpe cd!

    i can integrate in the main program installed under windows , i can make a linux base cd
    but not a winpe!!

    thanks again
     
  15. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Re: again how can i integrate it

    Hi mantra,

    See here: 67
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    can i do it?

    thanks
    and i can make a winpe cd
    cool
    can i include Backup & Recovery 10 Suite & Hard Disk Manager 2010 Professional & total commander ?
     
  17. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Re: can i do it?

    Hi,

    There's no point in including BR10 Suite , because you have all the functions already when you include HDM10 Pro.

    If I had Total Commander , I would be able to figure out how to include it - but I don't have that program .

    FreeCommander is included automatically, which is just as good.

    There are some extra nice surprises, too.

    Try it and see - it only takes a few minutes.
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,118
    Re: can i do it?

    are u sure bb10 has the same feature of hdm10 pro?

    total commander has a secure file copy


    thanks a lot:thumb:
     
  19. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Can you send the log data from PAT to Paragon Support Team via the ticket form: https://www.paragon-software.com/my-account/support/sendRequest.htm
     
  20. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    BTW, your partitions are aligned to 1MB correctly as Diskpart shows. Did you show this Diskpart output to Samsung?
     
  21. michaelgotberg

    michaelgotberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I tried the PAT and it said my partitions were aligned when they are actually not :p

    However I am using a hardware RAID 5 with a stripe-size of 64 kbyte. The raid contains several 2TB 4096byte sector advanced format drives.

    I have horrible transfer rates which I did not have when the raid was built from smaller disks. (15-50MByte/s).

    It is my understanding that I need to align the partitions in the raid not just to the 4096 byte harddrive sectors but also to the file cluster

    size and to the stripe-size to make the raid fully aligned?

    The stripe-size is of course a multiple of the 4096 byte sector so just aligning it to the stripe-size would make the partitions aligned from the bottom up.

    My problem is that the PAT does not support custom alignment schemes?

    I have tried to align them manually myself by calculating the required offsets, but none of paragons tools (or any of the competitors) allows me

    to move a partition to a specific partition offset? I would like to specify it with an accuracy down to the sector (even byte would do) not MB.

    Using win 7 with a normal NTFS boot partition and a large GPT-partition.

    Can anyone help me on this one? :)

    A nice feature in PAT would be to be able to select partition alignment schemes, maybe under an "advanced alignment options" with legends

    explaining the settings a bit (2048 for SSD, 4096 for advanced format and other larger for different RAIDs)?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  22. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,073
  23. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
  24. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Not sure how diskpart can help if you already have a lot of data on the drives.
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Imaging and backing up, deleting everything and recreating the partitions starting from scratch is much faster and safer than aligning multiple partitions that contain lots of data. ;)

    Panagiotis
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.